Two handed weapon


Rules Discussion


Can you cast spells as a druid holding a two handed weapon? Casting spells with somatic components..


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes, only material components needs a hand free.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

If you want to cast a spell with material components, you'd need an extra action in the end to re-grip the weapon in two hands, but as long as you're only doing Somatic and Verbal, you can cast them just fine while keeping the two-handed grip.

Quote:
A somatic component is a specific hand movement or gesture that generates a magical nexus. The spell gains the manipulate trait and requires you to make gestures. You can use this component while holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
dmerceless wrote:

If you want to cast a spell with material components, you'd need an extra action in the end to re-grip the weapon in two hands, but as long as you're only doing Somatic and Verbal, you can cast them just fine while keeping the two-handed grip.

Quote:
A somatic component is a specific hand movement or gesture that generates a magical nexus. The spell gains the manipulate trait and requires you to make gestures. You can use this component while holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely.

Or take the sorcerer dedication so you can use it's Component Substitution and not use any extra actions.


I would personally allow the druid to let the weapon be held in 1 hand while casting and then take it back up in two-hands afterwards.

That makes sense to me.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

That's not going to break the game, and could be a reasonable Advice answer.

As a Rules Question answer, it is incorrect, as both the free hands requirement (just for material components) and the action cost (free action to drop a hand from the weapon, 1 interact action to return to a proper 2-handed grip) are defined in the CRB.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Two handed weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.