Fabricate as spell-like ability


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

An Evangelist of Torag is able to cast Fabricate once per day as a spell-like ability.

Spell-like abilities do not usually require any material component.

How does this work with Fabricate? Does it mean you get to craft stuff for free every day?


Either A. yes or B. no, because without material present, there's nothing to actually target with the SLA.

This recent thread about Fabricate + False Focus/Eschew Materials may be of further interest.

Silver Crusade

Coidzor wrote:

Either A. yes or B. no, because without material present, there's nothing to actually target with the SLA.

This recent thread about Fabricate + False Focus/Eschew Materials may be of further interest.

Thank you for the link. I think Chell Raighn's reply is the best one:

Chell Raighn wrote:

The answer is actually in the target section of the spell. The material component for Fabricate is also the target for the spell, if you ignore the material component the spell has no target and as such no item is created from the material.

So, No. You can not use Eschew Materials or False Focus to remove the cost of Fabricate.

So I guess the answer is no.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fabricate as spell-like ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.