Using higher level scrolls


Rules Discussion


Can a level 2 Sorcerer cast from a level 5 scroll (assuming it's on his list)?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If you were able to get a hold of one in the first place, then I don't see why not.

The Exchange

Yes. The only requirement for scrolls is that the spell appears on the users spell list (p565 CRB)


That's pretty awesome, so don't need to make a check or something in order to cast a spell as long as it's in your tradition. All that's needed are the funds really.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The funds, and being able to find one. The GM can decide what magic items are available in a settlement, but that typically gets abstracted away by saying "common items of level X and lower are available". In PFS Organized Play, you can only buy items of your level and lower, unless you find them during play and they end up on your Chronicles sheet.


First World Bard wrote:
The funds, and being able to find one. The GM can decide what magic items are available in a settlement, but that typically gets abstracted away by saying "common items of level X and lower are available". In PFS Organized Play, you can only buy items of your level and lower, unless you find them during play and they end up on your Chronicles sheet.

Actually...

"As you complete adventures, you will gain more wealth that can be used to buy any common item that is no more than 2 levels higher than your current level."

This from the PFS2 player guide

Though here under purchasing guidelines there appears to be conflicting info.

Even if the rule is 2 levels higher than your character level, that only translates into one spell level higher than your highest slot, max.


So a Druid could use a scroll of Dinosaur Form at level 2 that's sweet!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Those PFS rules allow for items up to 2 levels above characater level when they are on a chronicle sheet. The regular availability is items equal to character level. So there is not so much a conflict as 2 differing sets of access requirements.

However, thise rules are specific to Organized Play, and shouldn't be taken as a general answer, as in a normal home game any number of variations on what can be accessed are possible.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
mrspaghetti wrote:


"As you complete adventures, you will gain more wealth that can be used to buy any common item that is no more than 2 levels higher than your current level."

This from the PFS2 player guide

Though here under purchasing guidelines there appears to be conflicting info.

There are many forum topics about this.

The most recent one is here. There's a reference to another thread, found here. I believe the 2 levels higher than your character passage to be in error; that should only be for items you find on Chronicle sheets. But the PFS team is quite backlogged and hasn't addressed that yet.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
HammerJack wrote:
However, thise rules are specific to Organized Play, and shouldn't be taken as a general answer, as in a normal home game any number of variations on what can be accessed are possible.

Agreed. I was just pointing out one possible way to restrict items by level. In a home game, it's probably more organic to use magic item limits at settlements. But if the GM says "sure, you're in a metropolis, if you have the gold you can buy any Common item you want", then of course that's fine.


HammerJack wrote:
Those PFS rules allow for items up to 2 levels above characater level when they are on a chronicle sheet. The regular availability is items equal to character level. So there is not so much a conflict as 2 differing sets of access requirements.

That is not apparent to me, and actually in the PFS games I've played so far the "level +2" rule has been used as the general one.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber
mrspaghetti wrote:
HammerJack wrote:
Those PFS rules allow for items up to 2 levels above characater level when they are on a chronicle sheet. The regular availability is items equal to character level. So there is not so much a conflict as 2 differing sets of access requirements.
That is not apparent to me, and actually in the PFS games I've played so far the "level +2" rule has been used as the general one.

It has been confirmed that the level plus 2 is for items on your chronicle only.

As a VC I can confirm this has been confirmed by leadership. Wish they would post it publicly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Using higher level scrolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.