| Adjoint |
Many spells that target creatures, but don't specify that it's only living creatures. As I understand, this not only lets the spells to affect constructs and undead, but also makes the spell remain on a dead body after a creature's death for the spell's duration.
I want to consider the spell Baleful Polymorph. It has duration permanent, so unless the spell is at some point dispelled, the affected creature will die while polymorphed. As I understand the dead body doesn't immediately return to it's true form either; a dead creature is still a creature, so the spell continues. Presumably, at this stage, the spell can still be dispelled and the body returned to normal. But what happens after a longer time, or if the body is disintegrated? Will the spell end? Especially I'd like to know the fate of the creature's gear that merged with the body when the creature was affected with Baleful Polymorph.
| Adjoint |
I thought that if the target of the spell changes in such a way that it no longer is a valid target for the spell the spell ends. But now I think that I never seen spells that target 'willing creatures' or 'allies' work that way, so I believe you're right and the spell sticks no matter what.
But that bring another question. Let's consider someone uses elemental shape to polymorph into an fire elemental. Then they die while polymorphed. The elementals, as I imagine, do not leave a coherent body behind, with no soul to control it, their matter immediately turns into normal unanimated matter. In the case of fire elemental, the fire just disappears, unless there's some flammable stuff around. What happens to the polymorphed creature's equipment?
| McDaygo |
How I’ve seen the spell done was both ways (it depends the GM) One saw permanent as permanent so the dead body said that form till a dispelling happened.
The other group I saw do it since the body returned after death to natural form. Now to fix this a wizard created a higher level of the spell to make it instantaneous vs. permanent so the magic came, did it’s job and was gone so nothing was there to dispell.
Diego Rossi
|
I thought that if the target of the spell changes in such a way that it no longer is a valid target for the spell the spell ends. But now I think that I never seen spells that target 'willing creatures' or 'allies' work that way, so I believe you're right and the spell sticks no matter what.
But that bring another question. Let's consider someone uses elemental shape to polymorph into an fire elemental. Then they die while polymorphed. The elementals, as I imagine, do not leave a coherent body behind, with no soul to control it, their matter immediately turns into normal unanimated matter. In the case of fire elemental, the fire just disappears, unless there's some flammable stuff around. What happens to the polymorphed creature's equipment?
With elemental shape you don't become a true elemental. You maintain your original type.
As I see it, you stay a pile of burning stuff until the spell ends, then you revert to your original form.Alternatively, you could become a pile of ash as avr suggest and return to your original form when the spell ends.
AFAIK, very few spells check to see if the target is still valid after they have been cast.
If that wasn't true almost all spell would end as soon as there isn't Line of Sight and Line of Effect between the caster and the spell effect.
| Azothath |
...consider someone uses elemental shape to polymorph into an fire elemental. Then they die while polymorphed. ...
do you mean elemental body (1-4) or Wild Shape(Su)?
I'll presume the first. Elemental Body spells have a duration of CstrLvl min. Once the duration is over (or dispelled) the caster reverts to his normal form. With polymorphs the creature type does not change.Baleful Polymorph is a special case, it's duration is permanent with 2 saves. Fail both and it's a sad sad outcome even if the creature is a shapechanger.
If the spell succeeds, the subject must also make a Will save. If this second save fails, the creature loses its extraordinary, supernatural, and spell-like abilities, loses its ability to cast spells (if it had the ability), and gains the alignment, special abilities, and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of its new form in place of its own. It still retains its class and level (or HD), as well as all benefits deriving therefrom (such as base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points). It retains any class features (other than spellcasting) that aren't extraordinary, supernatural, or spell-like abilities.
Duration: GMs generally fall into two camps - spells continue for duration(RAW), or spells end when caster dies(sensible ruling). If a spell requires concentration to maintain then it is going to end sooner rather than later.
Targeting: elemental body has target "you" and doesn't mention(distinguish) living creature. So it could carry on after death as you are still dead you.
Drama: okay - so the fudge is a GM may want it to end as that is a more dramatic event, and that's okay. It's a game with a story and stories need good endings.