Stand Still


Rules Discussion


It says you can make a melee strike against the triggering creature. My question is does a Grapple or Trip count as a melee attack?


I would say yes, they got the attack tag and are at melee range. However I would rule, just like in PF1, that you can't be tripped when you are still on the ground. The attack is made before you stand up entirely. For all purposes, you are still on the ground when the attack is made.

Verdant Wheel

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Stand Still
You strike out when your foe tries to flee. Make a melee Strike against the triggering creature. If the attack is a critical hit and the trigger was a move action, you disrupt that action.

I would say no, and will cite using two Monk abilities to denote the specific language of "Strike":

Flurry of Blows
(Monk 1)
Make two unarmed Strikes. If both hit the same creature, combine their damage for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses. Apply your multiple attack penalty to the Strikes normally. As it has the flourish trait, you can use Flurry of Blows only once per turn.

Flurry of Maneuvers
(Monk 4)
You flurry is a combination of maneuvers. You can replace one or both of your attacks during a Flurry of Blows with Grapples, Shoves, or Trips.

If you could replace a Strike with a Maneuver, the last feat would be redundant.

Open to other interpretations!


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Pretty sure the answer is no. Strike is a specific action, stand still lets you use that specific action as a reaction against the triggering creature. So you have to make a Strike rather than a Grapple or Trip.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

this is a trick question, they ARE melee attacks, but the original feat requires a strike.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Right. All strikes are attacks. All attacks are not strikes. The terms cannot be used interchangeably.


Does Stand Still suffer from MAP? I ask this because Attack of Opportunity specifically says it does not count against your MAP, Stand Still doesn't have any such language.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
Does Stand Still suffer from MAP? I ask this because Attack of Opportunity specifically says it does not count against your MAP, Stand Still doesn't have any such language.

I think AoO got the note because it's going to be so common, plus it had a -2 in the playtest.

But off-turn actions aren't tied to MAP, and it's explicitly stated (though I forget where at the moment).

That said, if somehow Stand Still were triggered during your turn (on some odd move Reaction that didn't avoid other Reactions), then yes, it'd be part of any MAP progression. AoOs wouldn't be.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Castilliano wrote:
But off-turn actions aren't tied to MAP, and it's explicitly stated (though I forget where at the moment).

Page 446: "The multiple attack penalty applies only during your turn, so you don’t have to keep track of it if you can perform an Attack of Opportunity or a similar reaction that lets you make a Strike on someone else’s turn."

Exo-Guardians

All actions with the Attack trait count toward MAP (except for Attack of Opportunity, which includes verbiage calling it out as an exception). There is no such thing as a "maneuver" or "combat maneuver" in PF2, although there are actions like Trip and Shove which are similar to PF1 combat maneuvers. They all have the Attack trait and thus count toward MAP.


sunderedhero wrote:
Castilliano wrote:
But off-turn actions aren't tied to MAP, and it's explicitly stated (though I forget where at the moment).
Page 446: "The multiple attack penalty applies only during your turn, so you don’t have to keep track of it if you can perform an Attack of Opportunity or a similar reaction that lets you make a Strike on someone else’s turn."

Weirdly, if the enemy has some means of moving during your turn (I don't think anything like this exists currently but I would not be surprised if it came up at some point in PF2's life cycle) then Stand Still would suffer MAP but AOO would not because of its specific verbiage.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Atalius wrote:
It says you can make a melee strike against the triggering creature. My question is does a Grapple or Trip count as a melee attack?

The short answer is yes, grapple and trip both count as melee attacks. The longer answer is that they do NOT count as melee strikes which is what the Stand Still ability grants you.

Grand Lodge

Arachnofiend wrote:


Weirdly, if the enemy has some means of moving during your turn (I don't think anything like this exists currently but I would not be surprised if it came up at some point in PF2's life cycle) then Stand Still would suffer MAP but AOO would not because of its specific verbiage.

Ranged Reprisal in combination with Retributive Strike lets you move as part of your reaction. Just a 5 foot step - but this exists already now for a Paladin level 1.

It is in the opposite direction (clearly no flee) - but who knows if at some stage a monster is allowed to flee as reaction if brought below x% HP.


Thod wrote:
Arachnofiend wrote:


Weirdly, if the enemy has some means of moving during your turn (I don't think anything like this exists currently but I would not be surprised if it came up at some point in PF2's life cycle) then Stand Still would suffer MAP but AOO would not because of its specific verbiage.

Ranged Reprisal in combination with Retributive Strike lets you move as part of your reaction. Just a 5 foot step - but this exists already now for a Paladin level 1.

It is in the opposite direction (clearly no flee) - but who knows if at some stage a monster is allowed to flee as reaction if brought below x% HP.

Ranged Reprisal specifies that you can Step closer to the opponent though, and Step specifically does not trigger reactions that normally trigger on move actions or leaving/entering squares.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Stand Still All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.