Thrown weapon and strike


Rules Discussion


Can you use a thrown melee weapon attack when a feat ask you to strike, or to strike with a melee weapon? (for example the twin takedown feat of rangers)


If a feat asks for a strike (without defining melee or ranged) - yes you can use a thrown melee weapon

If it asks to strike with a melee weapon - you should attack in melee with it

I am not entirely sure about twin takedown but I think it means you have to make melee attacks


1 person marked this as a favorite.

i disagree.

a melee thrown weapon is still a melee weapon.

as per the weapon traits, they specifically exist ranged thrown weapons and melee thrown weapons.

ofc, again per the traits, if you thow the weapon it is a ranged strike.

but if the only thing that a feat asks is "strike with a melee weapon" then you can use a melee thrown weapon to strike (regardless if it's a melee strike or a ranged strike) with said feat.

If the feat specified a melee strike, then no, you couldn't use melee thrown weapons, because when you use the Throw trait, the strike becomes a ranged attack.

Twin takedown as an example:

it requires two melee weapon in hand.

those can easily be 2 melee trown weapons.

it requires you to strike with them.

again, not a melee strike, but a strike. That can easily be a thrown strike.

you could do that then with something like thrown axes, but not with darts/javelins


shroudb wrote:

i disagree.

a melee thrown weapon is still a melee weapon.

as per the weapon traits, they specifically exist ranged thrown weapons and melee thrown weapons.

ofc, again per the traits, if you thow the weapon it is a ranged strike.

but if the only thing that a feat asks is "strike with a melee weapon" then you can use a melee thrown weapon to strike (regardless if it's a melee strike or a ranged strike) with said feat.

If the feat specified a melee strike, then no, you couldn't use melee thrown weapons, because when you use the Throw trait, the strike becomes a ranged attack.

Twin takedown as an example:

it requires two melee weapon in hand.

those can easily be 2 melee trown weapons.

it requires you to strike with them.

again, not a melee strike, but a strike. That can easily be a thrown strike.

you could do that then with something like thrown axes, but not with darts/javelins

I agree with your point of view, I'll try a to build something around it and see if it feels too wrong

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber

Seems likely to be errata’d but as written it works.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Thrown weapon and strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.