Thrown weapon and strike


Rules Discussion


Can you use a thrown melee weapon attack when a feat ask you to strike, or to strike with a melee weapon? (for example the twin takedown feat of rangers)


If a feat asks for a strike (without defining melee or ranged) - yes you can use a thrown melee weapon

If it asks to strike with a melee weapon - you should attack in melee with it

I am not entirely sure about twin takedown but I think it means you have to make melee attacks


1 person marked this as a favorite.

i disagree.

a melee thrown weapon is still a melee weapon.

as per the weapon traits, they specifically exist ranged thrown weapons and melee thrown weapons.

ofc, again per the traits, if you thow the weapon it is a ranged strike.

but if the only thing that a feat asks is "strike with a melee weapon" then you can use a melee thrown weapon to strike (regardless if it's a melee strike or a ranged strike) with said feat.

If the feat specified a melee strike, then no, you couldn't use melee thrown weapons, because when you use the Throw trait, the strike becomes a ranged attack.

Twin takedown as an example:

it requires two melee weapon in hand.

those can easily be 2 melee trown weapons.

it requires you to strike with them.

again, not a melee strike, but a strike. That can easily be a thrown strike.

you could do that then with something like thrown axes, but not with darts/javelins


shroudb wrote:

i disagree.

a melee thrown weapon is still a melee weapon.

as per the weapon traits, they specifically exist ranged thrown weapons and melee thrown weapons.

ofc, again per the traits, if you thow the weapon it is a ranged strike.

but if the only thing that a feat asks is "strike with a melee weapon" then you can use a melee thrown weapon to strike (regardless if it's a melee strike or a ranged strike) with said feat.

If the feat specified a melee strike, then no, you couldn't use melee thrown weapons, because when you use the Throw trait, the strike becomes a ranged attack.

Twin takedown as an example:

it requires two melee weapon in hand.

those can easily be 2 melee trown weapons.

it requires you to strike with them.

again, not a melee strike, but a strike. That can easily be a thrown strike.

you could do that then with something like thrown axes, but not with darts/javelins

I agree with your point of view, I'll try a to build something around it and see if it feels too wrong

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Seems likely to be errata’d but as written it works.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Thrown weapon and strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.