Oracle / Sorcerer conflict: Spells known and Spells on spell list


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Relevant FAQ

FAQ wrote:

New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my spell list, can I cast it?

No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.

However, neither the description of the Oracle mystery class feature, nor the Sorcerer bloodline class feature state that you add the new spells known to your class spell list. Thus you can't cast bloodline spells and mystery spells (and curse spells).


The language is that Oracles and Sorcerers "learn" those spells.

It doesn't say they add them to spells known.

It can be assumed that "learn" means "add to spells known" + "adds to spell list".


I don’t understand why mysteries aren’t an Oracle class feature and bloodlines aren’t a sorcerer class feature. I would argue that a reasonable interpretation would in fact construe those as class features for those classes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
...unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list.

It's right there in the quoted FAQ. They are added to their spell list AND given as a spell known.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle / Sorcerer conflict: Spells known and Spells on spell list All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions