Bless - Concentration


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


If I were to cast bless on the front lines and got attacked would the spell end immediately?

Bless: If you take damage equal to or greater than your level from a reaction or free action triggered by this action, your spell is disrupted and immediately dismissed.

My frontline Cleric can cast this spell I'm just wondering if it's worth it to keep concentrating on it for the duration of the fight. I would need to spend an action each round to keep it active, if I'm attacked at any point the spell automatically ends if I take damage equal to or greater than My level?


RAW, only reactions and free actions can do this, not regular attacks, and it has to be enough damage in a single attack, so as long as you stay away from creatures that have attacks of opportunity and can deal decent damage, you should be fine. I haven't seen many melee casters in my group so far, but when they did, it usually worked out fine. I'm currently playing a goblin cleric and, with decent AC, a reach weapon and some smart positioning, I've managed not to waste any spells.

Invest in your AC to avoid as many hits as you can. At some point, it would probably also be good to get Steady Spellcasting, a level 4 cleric feat that allows you to take more damage without losing spells. Other options that mitigate damage, such as resistance, or that allow you to move more easily without provoking (some skill feats and ancestry feats, mainly) can also help. So yes, it's risky, but feasible and potentially very fun.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You would only lose the spell if you got hit too hard during casting or when spending an action to concentrate on the spell each round. Just being attacked while you have the spell up does not disrupt it.

As you likely know, casting does provoke AoOs and some other reactions. However, the concentration action each round does NOT provoke most such reactions (It does not have the Manipulate trait, which is what provokes, but rather the Concentrate trait). The only exception I know of is a level 10 Fighter Feat, Disruptive, which is a Stance that causes actions with the Concentrate trait to provoke, along with some other perk. There may also be some monster that can react to disrupt Concentration trait abilities, but I don't know any offhand.

So no, just getting hit while the spell is up does not hinder it. Getting hit during casting (Be it AoO, Readied action, or other) does, and so does getting hit during the Concentrate on a Spell action, but that is much rarer as few things can disrupt you there (Readied actions might be able to, IDK.)

(At least I think getting hit during the concentrate action disrupts the spell if it's too much damage. I am not 100% certain. It may just disrupt the action [meaning you could try again with another action that turn] if that. I am not sure.)


JackieLane wrote:
RAW, only reactions and free actions can do this, not regular attacks

And it's not reactions and free actions. It's reactions and free actions where the provoking trigger was the "Concentrate on a Spell" action. So if you use an action to Stride from a character and provoke an AoO, then Concentrate on a Spell, you would not lose the spell you are concentrating on.

Edge93 wrote:
So no, just getting hit while the spell is up does not hinder it. Getting hit during casting (Be it AoO, Readied action, or other) does, and so does getting hit during the Concentrate on a Spell action, but that is much rarer as few things can disrupt you there (Readied actions might be able to, IDK.)

A readied action allows you to attack as a reaction with a trigger you designate. So a character could ready an action to attack when a caster concentrates on a spell, and that damage, if the readied action hit, could disrupt the spell (since it is damage from a reaction where the trigger is the "Concentrate on a Spell" action). And since they have to burn two actions on that, I'm not sure it's going to be everyone's first move.


Cheburn wrote:
Spoiler:
JackieLane wrote:
RAW, only reactions and free actions can do this, not regular attacks

And it's not reactions and free actions. It's reactions and free actions where the provoking trigger was the "Concentrate on a Spell" action. So if you use an action to Stride from a character and provoke an AoO, then Concentrate on a Spell, you would not lose the spell you are concentrating on.

Edge93 wrote:
So no, just getting hit while the spell is up does not hinder it. Getting hit during casting (Be it AoO, Readied action, or other) does, and so does getting hit during the Concentrate on a Spell action, but that is much rarer as few things can disrupt you there (Readied actions might be able to, IDK.)
A readied action allows you to attack as a reaction with a trigger you designate. So a character could ready an action to attack when a caster concentrates on a spell, and that damage, if the readied action hit, could disrupt the spell (since it is damage from a reaction where the trigger is the "Concentrate on a Spell" action). And since they have to burn two actions on that, I'm not sure it's going to be everyone's first move.

Right, I had forgot that it only applied with the concentrate action.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Bless - Concentration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells