Heroes of Undarin error


Doomsday Dawn Game Master Feedback


The adventure text says that the ghost mages (Event 5) cast resist energy twice before emerging. They do not know this spell.

Would the resistances even stack with the resistance against everything they already have?


It would not stack. As they cannot cast 7th level spells, that line makes no sense.
(they have Resistance 10 to all damage except force, ghost touch, and positive, which Resist Energy cannot protect against.)


Gwaihir Scout wrote:

The adventure text says that the ghost mages (Event 5) cast resist energy twice before emerging. They do not know this spell.

Would the resistances even stack with the resistance against everything they already have?

The listing in the bestiary is correct: they do not have those spells listed. Also true is that this is pointless as they already have resistance to everything at that level. However, the module clearly states that they "have cast" and therefore have cast. Maybe they had a scroll.

Different is the description for Lich tactics where it says that,

"The lich casts cloudkill, cone of cold, and fireball whenever it can catch more than one character in the effect."

Except that in the bestiary description a Lich does not have Fireball as a spell.

Therefore the Lich cannot throw fireballs (but it would if it could), and instead may only use cloudkill and cone of cold.

You could as DM change the spells of the Lich but that would be a house ruling and go against what is written in the play-test.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
DamianTheAlien wrote:
Gwaihir Scout wrote:

The adventure text says that the ghost mages (Event 5) cast resist energy twice before emerging. They do not know this spell.

Would the resistances even stack with the resistance against everything they already have?

The listing in the bestiary is correct: they do not have those spells listed. Also true is that this is pointless as they already have resistance to everything at that level. However, the module clearly states that they "have cast" and therefore have cast. Maybe they had a scroll.

Different is the description for Lich tactics where it says that,

"The lich casts cloudkill, cone of cold, and fireball whenever it can catch more than one character in the effect."

Except that in the bestiary description a Lich does not have Fireball as a spell.

Therefore the Lich cannot throw fireballs (but it would if it could), and instead may only use cloudkill and cone of cold.

You could as DM change the spells of the Lich but that would be a house ruling and go against what is written in the play-test.

The lich has a greater staff of fire, which lets it cast fireball.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Playtest Feedback / Doomsday Dawn Game Master Feedback / Heroes of Undarin error All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Doomsday Dawn Game Master Feedback