
Lupulus |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

So the Cleric Dedication feat includes the following:
"You can use wands, scrolls, and staves, but only for spells of a spell level that you can cast."
My question is about what "spell level that you can cast" means for this context.
Clearly if you take the 4th level Basic Cleric Spellcasting feat, you can cast 1st and 2nd level wands, and eventually 3rd.
If you are a wizard/druid/sorcerer etc, you can cast spells, so I assume even if you don't take the basic spellcasting feat, the "spell level you can cast" would also include the level of spells you can cast from your real class.
So if you are a fighter or other non-spellcaster and you take only the dedication feat, are you unable to cast wands at all using the feat's abilities? Or do you get to use 1st level wands when you take it, then 2nd level wands at level 3 , 3rd level wands at level 5, etc?
It seems most likely not, but there is the argument that most times you get a cantrip, it is heightened to half your level rounded up. But even this language is also missing from the dedication feat.
Hoping I'm missing something since I'd like to use wands without having to take the spellcasting feats as well.

criticalham |

My party just came across this as well, and it'd be nice to have clarification. One of my players built a cleric for Doomsday Dawn Part 3 who dipped a feat into wizard so that she could cast fireball from a wand even though they didn't technically have the ability to cast third level arcane spells yet.
I can see the justification for either approach, but it seems like this could be a bit more explicitly worded.

UttiniDaKilrJawa |
The ways the rules are written it seems that if you are not a caster you are probably S.O.L. when it comes to casting spells from wands.
“To cast a spell from a wand, you must have the spell on your spell list and be able to use the spellcasting actions listed in the spell’s entry.“ Pg 380

Dasrak |

I'm actually surprised there's any limitation at all given that Trick Magic Item is a skill feat that, with the proper skill investment, can be used to activate wands and scrolls of any level or discipline. It's a bit more limited due to having to make a skill check and having some action overhead, but wands and scrolls generally aren't items you use in combat anyways.

Draco18s |

I'm actually surprised there's any limitation at all given that Trick Magic Item is a skill feat that, with the proper skill investment, can be used to activate wands and scrolls of any level or discipline. It's a bit more limited due to having to make a skill check and having some action overhead, but wands and scrolls generally aren't items you use in combat anyways.
Remember that Trick Magic Item is an action. So if you use it for Heal you can never use the 3-action version. Same goes for Magic Missile or adding a "metamagic" feat (e.g. Reach Spell).
Likewise you can't move before casting a 2-action spell, many of which have a range of 30 feet.

Dasrak |

Remember that Trick Magic Item is an action. So if you use it for Heal you can never use the 3-action version. Same goes for Magic Missile or adding a "metamagic" feat (e.g. Reach Spell).
Likewise you can't move before casting a 2-action spell, many of which have a range of 30 feet.
That only affects you if you plan on using wands in-combat, which is typically a poor choice since pulling them out and putting them away has too big an action economy overhead. Pretty much all characters want both their hands for combat purposes and do not appreciate juggling other items. Wands are most useful for prebuffing, recovery, or for utility spells, and action economy doesn't matter much there. While the 3-action heal spell is a bit of a loss, there are other casting disciplines which lack any relevant 3-action spells.

Draco18s |

That only affects you if you plan on using wands in-combat, which is typically a poor choice since pulling them out and putting them away has too big an action economy overhead. Pretty much all characters want both their hands for combat purposes and do not appreciate juggling other items. Wands are most useful for prebuffing, recovery, or for utility spells, and action economy doesn't matter much there. While the 3-action heal spell is a bit of a loss, there are other casting disciplines which lack any relevant 3-action spells.
It actually came up last night in my group. Player without Heal (but with Trick Magic Item) wanted to AOE blast the undead around us. I had to remind him that T.M.I. cost an action (though he did remember that he had to pull the staff out with an action the turn prior).