Do monsters have the multiple attack penalty?


Monsters and Hazards


For example, does a tiger get two claws and a bite (standard attacks) with no penalty? Does that count as three actions? Does the bite get no penalty, then the first claw gets -5, the second gets -10? If that is the case combat will take forever due to misses.


It takes 3 actions to attack with all 3 and they do take multiple attack penalties (as far as I've read anyway), but since the claws are agile, they are made at -4 and -8. Alternatively, you could bite three times; once at -0, once at -5, once at -10. Or some combination of them which makes the numbers a bit confusing. But most people will probably go bite, claw, claw as it gives the best chance to keep hitting the target.


Under the Kraken, they specifically state that monsters takes multiple attack penalty. That also has the effect of changing how the Kraken works substantially.


Alyran wrote:
It takes 3 actions to attack with all 3 and they do take multiple attack penalties (as far as I've read anyway), but since the claws are agile, they are made at -4 and -8. Alternatively, you could bite three times; once at -0, once at -5, once at -10. Or some combination of them which makes the numbers a bit confusing. But most people will probably go bite, claw, claw as it gives the best chance to keep hitting the target.

We tried it both ways and with the penalty many monsters seem very week. Without the penalty it seems much more reasonable. We will keep trying.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Monsters and Hazards / Do monsters have the multiple attack penalty? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Monsters and Hazards