| Finneous Emberstorm |
Is it still possible to cast (or memorize) a spell (not heightened) in a higher level spell slot?
I didn't see this specifically called out in the book but i may have missed it.
If not then its going to severly limit use of lower level spells that are always good but never hightenable (like true strike).
| Bluescale |
So just to be clear, if my 4th level sorcerer knew true strike, magic missile, burning hands, and fear as 1st level spells, had magic missile and burning hands as my "spontaneous" heightened spells, and had already used all of my 1st level spell slots while still having 2nd level slots available, I would not be able to cast true strike with the 2nd level slot, even though the effect would be the same regardless of what level slot it was cast in, correct?
| Bluescale |
No, you could since you chose them as your spontaneous heightening spells and as such it lets you cast them as 2nd level spells.
No, in this example burning hands and magic missile are the "spontaneous" heightened spells, true strike, since it doesn't heighten, was not one of the two. In this case, would I be able to cast true strike using a higher level spell slot? If not, then that makes the reduction of spell slots for spontaneous casters even more restricting than it already is.
Christopher Van Horn
|
Wizards can sorcerors can't it appears, since a wizard can heighten a spell as long as he knows it he can memorize a lower level spell in a higher slot if he wants more per day. A sorceror cannot because heightening a spell requires them to know it at a higher level to do so as per the rules.