Spontaneous casting in higher slots without hightening. Is it possible?


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


Is it still possible to cast (or memorize) a spell (not heightened) in a higher level spell slot?
I didn't see this specifically called out in the book but i may have missed it.
If not then its going to severly limit use of lower level spells that are always good but never hightenable (like true strike).


Heightening just -is- putting it in a higher level slot.

Certain spells have special effects when put in a higher level spell slot, but that doesn't mean spells without those special effects can't be heightened.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So just to be clear, if my 4th level sorcerer knew true strike, magic missile, burning hands, and fear as 1st level spells, had magic missile and burning hands as my "spontaneous" heightened spells, and had already used all of my 1st level spell slots while still having 2nd level slots available, I would not be able to cast true strike with the 2nd level slot, even though the effect would be the same regardless of what level slot it was cast in, correct?


No, you could since you chose them as your spontaneous heightening spells and as such it lets you cast them as 2nd level spells.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Atamis wrote:
No, you could since you chose them as your spontaneous heightening spells and as such it lets you cast them as 2nd level spells.

No, in this example burning hands and magic missile are the "spontaneous" heightened spells, true strike, since it doesn't heighten, was not one of the two. In this case, would I be able to cast true strike using a higher level spell slot? If not, then that makes the reduction of spell slots for spontaneous casters even more restricting than it already is.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Wizards can sorcerors can't it appears, since a wizard can heighten a spell as long as he knows it he can memorize a lower level spell in a higher slot if he wants more per day. A sorceror cannot because heightening a spell requires them to know it at a higher level to do so as per the rules.


He's asking about using a 2nd level spell slot to cast a 1st level spell AS A 1st LEVEL SPELL. This was something PF1 sorcerers could do.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

And the answer is no, they cannot because that is considered to be heightening and they cannot heighten without using spontaneous heighten or learning the spell at a higher level.


That is unfortunate.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Spontaneous casting in higher slots without hightening. Is it possible? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells