| Kristal Moonhand |
Are you taking a 5-foot step or are you moving? Cuz 5-foot steps don't provoke.
The scenario looks like this, correct?
P = Player Character
O = Ogre
[x][x][x][x][x][x][x]
[x][P][r][r][r][r][x]
[x][r][r][r][r][r][x]
[x][r][r][O][r][r][x]
[x][r][r][r][r][r][x]
[x][r][r][r][r][r][x]
[x][x][x][x][x][x][x]
The ogre's reach extends to all those Rs. If you 5-foot step so you're adjacent to the ogre, it doesn't matter if you technically moved 10 feet under Pathfinder's janky distance rules. However, if you're in the next diagonal, you'd have to take a move action and would provoke.
| Java Man |
An important point from the faq for the CRB:
"10-Foot Reach and Diagonals: I’m confused about reach and diagonals. I heard somewhere online that you don’t threaten the second diagonal with a 10-foot reach but that you somehow get an attack of opportunity when opponents move out of that square, but the Rules Reference Cards show that you do threaten the second diagonal. Which one is correct?
The cards are correct. As an exception to the way that diagonals normally work, a creature with 10 feet of reach threatens the second diagonal. These changes will be reflected in the next errata."
| Scott Wilhelm |
So the scenario is my PC is 15 ft away via 2 diagonal squares away. My Ogre has 10 ft reach. If the PC moves diagonally from 15 ft to 5 ft in 1 move, does the Ogre with 10ft reach get an AoO? Or does he not get it cause the PC moves directly from 15 to 5 ft in range?
The Attack of Opportunity trigger is that the target Moves out of a Threatened Square. Unless the target is Teleporting or something, you can't get from 15' to 5' from a creature with a 10' reach without first entering and then leaving the 10' mark.
| Claxon |
If the PC has to do more than take a 5ft step, it would provoke. But they don't, so they wont provoke. This is just one of those rough edges of the system. Personally I would prefer if we moved towards supporting a hex grid system instead, but that also comes with it's own movement based problems as well.