Two Fortuitous Weapons?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So if someone wields two Fortuitous Weapons (assume they have combat reflexes) would they be able to get 2 extra AoOs a round?


I'd rule that they shouldn't, even if just for balance purposes.

The enchantment says once per round. Trying to have two weapons enhanced to circumvent that restriction doesn't really make sense since it means you can make three attacks of opportunity on a given provocation, even with penalties factored in (of which two-weapon fighting isn't involved with). Heaven forbid we apply this stuff to Boot Blades, Cestii/Spiked Gauntlets, Armor Spikes, etc. And now we're making 6+ AoOs, with just one provocation.

At best, having both weapons enhanced means you can make the additional attack of opportunity with either weapon of your choice, depending on the situation. But I highly doubt the rules intended for three or more attacks of opportunity on a given provocation, and even if it did, it still means you can only make one such attack each round due to the listed restriction.

Grand Lodge

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

I'd rule that they shouldn't, even if just for balance purposes.

The enchantment says once per round. Trying to have two weapons enhanced to circumvent that restriction doesn't really make sense since it means you can make three attacks of opportunity on a given provocation, even with penalties factored in (of which two-weapon fighting isn't involved with). Heaven forbid we apply this stuff to Boot Blades, Cestii/Spiked Gauntlets, Armor Spikes, etc. And now we're making 6+ AoOs, with just one provocation.

At best, having both weapons enhanced means you can make the additional attack of opportunity with either weapon of your choice, depending on the situation. But I highly doubt the rules intended for three or more attacks of opportunity on a given provocation, and even if it did, it still means you can only make one such attack each round due to the listed restriction.

I hadn't even thought of the implications of putting it on weapons you don't have to wield in your hand, but to be fair that'd be insanely expensive so I'm not sure it's that much of a balance issue.

You do raise a very good point with the "once per round" bit. The question seems to become whether that applies just to the weapon itself or not.


Regardless of exact rules parsing, I'm certain it wasn't intended to allow you to make more than 2 AoO on one provoking action.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Jurassic Pratt wrote:
So if someone wields two Fortuitous Weapons (assume they have combat reflexes) would they be able to get 2 extra AoOs a round?

No for multiple reasons:

  • Multiple of the same effect don't stack, spell/effect stacking rules.
  • The same action isn't supposed to provoke multiple AoO, see movement in a round rules and other similar.


I would say allow wielding 2 Fortuitous weapons, but require that both the AOO and the -5 AOO be made with the same weapon for a given triggering event.

Liberty's Edge

I see no reason why it would not work or be overpowered so long as you follow the text as stated.

Specifically, "Once per round, when the wielder of a fortuitous weapon hits with an attack of opportunity, he can make a second attack of opportunity with this weapon against that foe at a –5 penalty."

So, someone triggers an attack of opportunity... which allows you to make a single attack... if you hit with fortuitous weapon one then you can make a second attack with that weapon at -5. To benefit from fortuitous weapon two there would have to be a SECOND triggering event, you would need combat reflexes and a 12+ Dex to take advantage of that AoO, you would then have to hit with the fortuitous weapon two... and only then could you make a second attack at -5 with your second fortuitous weapon.

Any third or subsequent triggering events you could still make AoOs if your Dex were high enough, but the fortuitous enchantments would have no further impact.


Ah, CBDunkerson is correct.

But it's important to note that it would require another provoking action to take place and then hitting with the other weapon.

So yes it's possible, but it's unlikely to come up very often.


Two-Weapon Warrior

Trained under great masters who preached the simple truth that two are better than one when it comes to weapons, the two-weapon warrior is a terror when his hands are full. From paired daggers to exotic double weapons, all combinations come equally alive in his skilled hands.

Equal Opportunity (Ex)
At 13th level, when a two-weapon warrior makes an attack of opportunity, he may attack once with both his primary and secondary weapons. The penalties for attacking with two weapons apply normally.
This ability replaces Weapon Training 3.

So a dual whips both with fortuitous. Get all the whip feats that allow you to threaten out to 10 feet and hit people in armour. Is this the new evil fighter build? ;)

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

This just seems so much like a speed weapon, which is limited to 1/turn regardless of how many speed weapons you own.

The Exchange

Monk with Snake Fang and a fortuitous amulet of mighty fists.

Discuss.


Belafon wrote:

Monk with Snake Fang and a fortuitous amulet of mighty fists.

Discuss.

Or a Druid with an Agile Fortuitous AoMF in Deinonychus form.

This was actually going to be my counterpoint later, but this basically saves me the trouble.

Grand Lodge

James Risner wrote:
Jurassic Pratt wrote:
So if someone wields two Fortuitous Weapons (assume they have combat reflexes) would they be able to get 2 extra AoOs a round?

No for multiple reasons:

  • Multiple of the same effect don't stack, spell/effect stacking rules.
  • The same action isn't supposed to provoke multiple AoO, see movement in a round rules and other similar.
  • Multiple of the same spell stack fine as long as they have different targets. You're going to tell me I can't cast keen edge on 2 different weapons?
  • It's not the same action provoking twice. Hitting your AoO triggers one fortuitous and hitting that one triggers the next. And regardless, Lemartes already linked a class ability that let's one action provoke twice. So obviously it isn't a hard rule of design for that to never be allowed.
    James Risner wrote:
    This just seems so much like a speed weapon, which is limited to 1/turn regardless of how many speed weapons you own.

    It's really not on the level of speed considering it's only on AoOs and implies a -5. Plus the whole reason speed doesn't work is that it specifically calls out not stacking with similar effects.

  • Grand Lodge

    Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
    Belafon wrote:

    Monk with Snake Fang and a fortuitous amulet of mighty fists.

    Discuss.

    Or a Druid with an Agile Fortuitous AoMF in Deinonychus form.

    This was actually going to be my counterpoint later, but this basically saves me the trouble.

    If you can indeed use multiple fortuitous weapons then I'd expect a clarification similar to the one on speed for AoMF where they say it'd be too powerful for one 4k gold magic item to give you an extra AoO on every attack.


    2 people marked this as a favorite.

    When it comes to a an amulet of mighty fists it's just best to think of the amulet as the "weapon" and so the benefit it provides that is limited to once per weapon means once per all of your unarmed attacks.

    This is similar to the question that was asked about whether or not a spell storing amulet of mighty fists would allow you store multiple spells into each attack that qualifies for use with an AoMF.

    The answer is no, you get it once per magic item.


    CBDunkerson wrote:

    I see no reason why it would not work or be overpowered so long as you follow the text as stated.

    Specifically, "Once per round, when the wielder of a fortuitous weapon hits with an attack of opportunity, he can make a second attack of opportunity with this weapon against that foe at a –5 penalty."

    So, someone triggers an attack of opportunity... which allows you to make a single attack... if you hit with fortuitous weapon one then you can make a second attack with that weapon at -5. To benefit from fortuitous weapon two there would have to be a SECOND triggering event, you would need combat reflexes and a 12+ Dex to take advantage of that AoO, you would then have to hit with the fortuitous weapon two... and only then could you make a second attack at -5 with your second fortuitous weapon.

    Any third or subsequent triggering events you could still make AoOs if your Dex were high enough, but the fortuitous enchantments would have no further impact.

    This is correct. You can make only 1 extra attack per weapon per provocation per round. You have to keep track of which weapon has made any specific attack when provoked.

    The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

    The weapon is the amulet.

    Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two Fortuitous Weapons? All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.