Telekinetic Haul / Blast Question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Is there any rule preventing me from using myself in a telekinetic blast if I'm within the weight limit with telekinetic haul?

Silver Crusade

I don't think so, but it's extremely inadvisable. Remember, your thrown item takes damage equal to what is dealt.

Edit: Yeah, I just checked as well, and you aren't an object, so unless you can find a way to use telekinetic blast after you die, no.


You are a creature; a creature is not an object, and both the Blast and the Utility Wild Talent specify object.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

You can however Foe Throw yourself if you want, miss deliberately and then take half damage and pick a square to arrive it.

I don't recommend empowering the blast if you do this.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Really wish there was a way to use Foe Throw and Extended Range together.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

Telekinetic haul doesn't change the fact you can only target objects with basic telekinesis. However, you can get around this by standing or sitting on an object and moving it while you go for a ride.

My kitsune aetherkineticist abuses the heck out of this. While a party was arguing about how to cross a river, she sat on a nearby log and kept repeating "GET ON THE LOG, GET ON THE LOG." When a kitsune tells you to get on a log, you get on a flippin' log!


Is there anywhere in the rules where you are told that creatures are not also objects?

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

Melkiador wrote:
Is there anywhere in the rules where you are told that creatures are not also objects?

In several places.

Plant Creature Type wrote:
This type comprises vegetable creatures. Note that regular plants, such as one finds growing in gardens and fields, lack Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores; even though plants are alive, they are objects, not creatures.
Undead Creature Type wrote:
Immunity to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects or is harmless).

The magic rules also treat objects and creatures separately. The section on targeting with spell effects is relevant.

Aiming a Spell wrote:
Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.

It's also generally understood that a creature is not an object. The rules are abstracted in a way that does not treat a creature's body as an object until it dies.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Telekinetic Haul / Blast Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.