Attacks of opportunity required?


Rules Questions


So, to preface this, I'm making a counter attack monk. Build is as follows.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1QWFtMAuOX6WHlVZ3VhU2Rlcm8

This is a two part question.

First, if i were to run into a room with two humans and a dog, running into and out of their threat areas in a row.. First guy swings at me because obviously. Why wouldn't he. My build would ideally snake style dodge the aoo, strike back with an aoo due to snake fang once or twice, and then counter attack (once or twice, that's a different question though.) and then move to the next guy who may think twice. Is he required to take that aoo? I imagine a dog, for Example, wouldn't consider withholding the aoo due to intelligence.

Second question. As a monk, I have unarmed mastery, so I do not provoke an aoo when melee attacking and my attacks are lethal. Can I intentionally draw an attack of opportunity unarmed? By feigning or something? If not, can I legally not take the class feature? Snake style makes my attacks piercing so they should be lethal regardless.

I know unarmed combat mastery is a prerequisite for the stances, but Master of Many styles allows me to bypass those prerequisites.

Lots of questions there, so thank you for reading. If the build has any fundamental flaws, I'd appreciate knowing as well.

Thank you.


Also if someone could tell me how this build would play that first scenario out, the number of attacks and the limitations per my Dex and Wis bonuses, that would be hugely helpful.


No, no combatant is forced to use an AoO.

No, you cannot choose to not take a class ability. However, I see no reason that you should be forced to use it. I would expect table variation on that one.

You would have a limit of attacks to as many AoOs you can make +1 for Snake Fang as you can only make 1 immediate action per round.


Intelligent creatures can always withhold their AoO. For animal level intelligence, it would be the GMs call, but they would probably attack unless their master told them not to.


Snake fang is not an immediate action, it is an attack of opportunity in response to a miss, and a follow up if that attack hits. So I'd be limited to one to two hits there, per miss, per round. So if I could get attack of opportunities on me repeatedly by the same target I'd get one to to free Hits per. Not including the two free Action retaliation per attack of opportunity against me, per my wisdom modifier.

Sound right?


1. You do not have to respond to an attack of opportunity provocation; if you choose not to take it, you can still take it on a later provocation. If you don't have Combat Reflexes, for example, you may wish to withhold an attack of opportunity provoked by Shieldie McFullplate for a potentially more strategic use when that wizard you managed to move up to foolishly tries to cast a spell.

2. I don't know if you can purposely provoke with an armed attack that otherwise wouldn't. You might be better off attempting a disarm/trip/sunder maneuver (assuming you don't have the associated feat) to make your attack provoke.

(edit)

2a. Sorry, you're stuck being awesome at unarmed strikes.

3. The attack of opportunity is just an attack of opportunity, but the follow up if that attack hits is an immediate action, so you'd only get one of those. Komoda's math checks out--you'd get (number of attacks of opportunity you can make per round) plus one hits for this gambit, not including your regular attacks. (Not sure what you're referring to with regard to your Wisdom modifier.)


Panther claw turns counter attacks on attacks of opportunity on me from panther style into free actions and allows me to make as many counter attacks per turn as I have wisdom modifier.

As for the other parts, thanks for clarifying. Figuring out the nuances of the build and what does or doesn't stack in what capacity was a secondary purpose here. I'll probably make a new thread for that. Unless someone wants to check out panther style, panther claw, snake style, snake fang and see how they interact against missed attacks of opportunity.

Grand Lodge

Maergoth wrote:
Snake fang is not an immediate action
Sanke Fang wrote:
...If this attack of opportunity hits, you can spend an immediate action to make...


It's not an immediate action. It has an optional immediate component. From the way you described it, it sounded like you were implying that snake fang is one attack at most, because it's immediate. Snake fang is two, one is considered an aoo, and then an optional immediate follow up. I misunderstood what you were saying.


Also remember, that AOOs are limited in that if you have made an AOO against one target for movement, that is the only AOO you can make due to that target's movement (other provocations such as trip/bluff/etc. count as a different provocation).


PokeyCA wrote:
Also remember, that AOOs are limited in that if you have made an AOO against one target for movement, that is the only AOO you can make due to that target's movement (other provocations such as trip/bluff/etc. count as a different provocation).

Worth noting that Fortuitous would let you make a second attack for that one provocation.


Fortuitous seems like an interesting addition to some knuckles or something.

So let me make sure I've got this.

Encounter begins against two humans and a dog. I win Initiative. I should be able to run into a room past the first man, drawing an attack of opportunity. I use the snake style feat's immediate action to raise my ac with a sense Motive check. The opponent misses his attack, allowing me an attack of opportunity in retaliation (snake fang) assuming my attack hits, I'm allowed an immediate action follow up (snake fang) but I had already used my immediate action on the ac bonus so I can't do that.

The incoming attack of opportunity resolves and I retaliate (panther style) which is normally a swift action, which I wouldn't be able to do if I had used an immediate action the turn prior.. However it is a free Action thanks to panther claw, allowing me to retaliate a number of times equal to my wisdom modifier on my turn (panther claw). So I retaliate once per provocation, assuming it has the same rules as an attack of opportunity. I've now hit the opponent twice, once as an aoo(snake fang) , once as a counter attack (panther claw)

I move to the next target and cannot use snake style to sense Motive an ac bonus, having used an immediate already. He swings at me, and misses (wishful thinking). I retaliate with an attack of opportunity (snake fang, no immediate follow up) (combat reflexes for additional aoo per turn)
And then I hit him with an unarmed retaliation from panther claw, using my second of two retaliations this turn.

Move to the final target,and if I attempt a combat maneuver drawing an additional attack of opportunity, I would be able to counter attack again if I had enough wisdom mod. But I do not. Instead I simply aoo against his miss (wishful thinking) Using my third attack of opportunity(snake fang, no follow up) ,(combat reflexes allows me a total of 3) but out of retaliations from panther claw (wis mod +2)

Alternatively, I could just melee attack the last target instead of blowing my last attack of opportunity this turn, maintaining threat over surrounding space.

Does this sound like a mechanically sound exchange? And when would my retaliations, attacks of opportunity and immediate actions be returned to me? At the end of my turn or at the start of my next turn?

Sorry for the wall of text but I really do appreciate shedding some light on this complicated situation.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacks of opportunity required? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.