Quick Question


Rules Questions


I think I already know the answer to this but I just wanted to double check... Can "Dark Elementalist" and "Kinetic Knight" be taken together? "Dark Studies" alters the skills by adding to the available list and "Courtly" replaces 2 skills. Neither alter the same skills but they both alter the skill list.

Related: Can "Blood Kineticist" and "Kinetic Knight" be taken together?


If two archetypes alter, replace, add to, limit, expand, adjust, or even think about looking at the same feature, they are not compatible.


So it depends on the interpretation of whether or not the "skills list" is a feature or if each individual skill is the feature.

I think most people will come up with the "skills list" as the feature. Check with your GM.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Per the faq on archetype stacking class skills as a whole are the feature.


Yup, the FAQ says that if two archetypes ADD different skills to skill list they are not compatible.


That is what I get for not checking the FAQ. Forgot about the line about the skills. :)


Thank you very much. That is what I thought but I was hoping I was wrong.


The rules are clear on that. That being said, in a home game if the only place the two archetypes aren't compatible is in skills, and it doesn't change the same skill, a lot of GMs will allow it.

The rules on archetype stacking and what is or is not a 'feature' are pretty messed up in truth. All the skills are 'one feature' but the different bardic performances are multiple sub-features is one example of something that makes no sense at all.

Scarab Sages

silverrey wrote:

I think I already know the answer to this but I just wanted to double check... Can "Dark Elementalist" and "Kinetic Knight" be taken together? "Dark Studies" alters the skills by adding to the available list and "Courtly" replaces 2 skills. Neither alter the same skills but they both alter the skill list.

Related: Can "Blood Kineticist" and "Kinetic Knight" be taken together?

Technically no, they can't combine. But you could ask the GM anyway...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions