Just started looking at the warpriest


Rules Questions


The arsenal chaplain looks interesting. Regarding the arsenal chaplain archetype - does the sacred weapon change impact weapon damage regardless? If I wield a great axe as a sacred weapon - is it only d6 damage? In the base warpriest it looks to be the better of the two.


It's the better of the two like normal.


Chess Pwn wrote:
It's the better of the two like normal.

That would make the archetype pretty interesting. What I also don't understand is the concept of getting quicken blessing at level 7 but not being able to use it until level 10.


If the weapon's normal damage is above 1d6, you use the normal damage.


lv7-9 you can swift action war blessing someone else.


Blake Duffey wrote:
What I also don't understand is the concept of getting quicken blessing at level 7 but not being able to use it until level 10.

If you read the war blessing again, both the minor and major powers include "you can touch an ally" (meaning that you can extend its benefit to your buddies, or to yourself because you are your own ally). The quicken blessing clause indicates that from level 7 to 10 you can only grant "War Mind" to other people as a swift action, if you use it on yourself it is a standard action.

FWIW the Arsenal Chaplain should really be considered the default warpriest, barring something specific the archetype doesn't serve or some strange weapon, it's far ahead of the normal WP.


PossibleCabbage wrote:
Blake Duffey wrote:
What I also don't understand is the concept of getting quicken blessing at level 7 but not being able to use it until level 10.
If you read the war blessing again, both the minor and major powers include "you can touch an ally" (meaning that you can extend its benefit to your buddies, or to yourself because you are your own ally). The quicken blessing clause indicates that from level 7 to 10 you can only grant "War Mind" to other people as a swift action, if you use it on yourself it is a standard action.

Would that expendable one usage of the blessing or two?


Blake Duffey wrote:
PossibleCabbage wrote:
Blake Duffey wrote:
What I also don't understand is the concept of getting quicken blessing at level 7 but not being able to use it until level 10.
If you read the war blessing again, both the minor and major powers include "you can touch an ally" (meaning that you can extend its benefit to your buddies, or to yourself because you are your own ally). The quicken blessing clause indicates that from level 7 to 10 you can only grant "War Mind" to other people as a swift action, if you use it on yourself it is a standard action.
Would that expendable one usage of the blessing or two?

two like normal.


Thank you very much for the answers to date. There seems to be some disagreement over the weapon training benefits. (For the scope of my question, I don't play PFS). I assume this scales with level (so my dwarf with his great axe gets +1/+1 at level 5, +2/+2 at level 9, +3/+3 at level 13, etc). I assume I can do this is even if don't take weapon focus with anything else? Is advanced weapon training open to this archetype (again outside of PFS play)?

Thanks again. And I agree this archetype seems like the better fit vs the base class.


advanced weapon training is dependant on GM and also on the interpretation of how the weapon training groups work.

aka
do you pick heavy weapons lv5 and close lv9 but only weapons that are diety or WF work
Or do you pick 1 group lv1 that is "chosen weapons" and then no more groups.

If 1 AWT should be allowed.
If 2 AWT isn't allowed.

But with both the feat should be allowed using one of your fighter feats.
Also with both the group you choose at lv5 will go up like you said.


Thanks very much for all the feedback
Going to work this up and see what it looks like. May be back with questions.


WP has spontaneous casting (convert into a healing spell of same level). WP has fervor and can cast spells on SELF as a Swift action.

Can a WP do both at the same time? Ie - can a WP memorize bears strength and during battle swiftly/spontaneously cast that as cure moderate wounds?


yes.


Spontaneous casting is irrespective of spell casting time. That is, spontaneous casting doesn't take any time. The casting of the spontaneous spell dictates what time is taken. Ergo, if your spontaneous spell has a casting time of swift, your casting action is swift.

For example, if you spontaneously cast Summon Natures Ally (1 round casting time) it's 1 round casting, same as if you had it memorized. If your cure spell is swift, then you're casting time is swift, whether it's prayed for or converted.

Silver Crusade

I'm not so sure. I just checked the wording on the prd for the fervor ability:

Quote:
As a swift action, a warpriest can expend one use of fervor to cast any one warpriest spell he has prepared with a casting time of 1 round or shorter. When cast in this way, the spell can target only the warpriest, even if it could normally affect other or multiple targets. Spells cast in this way don't require somatic components and do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

See the part I bolded. If you're using spontaneous casting to cast a different spell than the one you prepared, then I don't think you'd be able to use fervor to cast it as a swift action.

Liberty's Edge

Fromper wrote:

I'm not so sure. I just checked the wording on the prd for the fervor ability:

Quote:
As a swift action, a warpriest can expend one use of fervor to cast any one warpriest spell he has prepared with a casting time of 1 round or shorter. When cast in this way, the spell can target only the warpriest, even if it could normally affect other or multiple targets. Spells cast in this way don't require somatic components and do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

See the part I bolded. If you're using spontaneous casting to cast a different spell than the one you prepared, then I don't think you'd be able to use fervor to cast it as a swift action.

It's not as clear-cut as that, actually.

Quote:
Spontaneous Casting of Cure and Inflict Spells: A good cleric (or a cleric of a good deity) can spontaneously cast a cure spell in place of a prepared spell of the same level or higher, but not in place of a bonus domain spell. An evil cleric (or a cleric of an evil deity) can spontaneously cast an inflict spell in place of a prepared spell (that is not a domain spell) of the same level or higher. Each neutral cleric of a neutral deity spontaneously casts either cure spells like a good cleric or inflict spells like an evil one, depending on which option the player chooses when creating the character. The divine energy of the spell that the cure or inflict spell substitutes for is converted into the cure or inflict spell as if that spell had been prepared all along.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

That was my confusion. There was an older thread without complete consensus on the answer. As a player, I prefer the answer to be yes. Pathfinder has gotten somewhat fiddly lately, so I'm never sure.

Thanks for all the feedback.


I appreciate the Shisumo response. Seems compelling (although I think that verbiage is from the d20srd vs any Pathfinder source)


The verbage in question is from the magic chapter of the CRB.


Java Man wrote:
The verbage in question is from the magic chapter of the CRB.

Truly appreciate the clarification. Don't have my books with me and was relying on online sources and Google.


Shisumo wrote:
Fromper wrote:

I'm not so sure. I just checked the wording on the prd for the fervor ability:

Quote:
As a swift action, a warpriest can expend one use of fervor to cast any one warpriest spell he has prepared with a casting time of 1 round or shorter. When cast in this way, the spell can target only the warpriest, even if it could normally affect other or multiple targets. Spells cast in this way don't require somatic components and do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

See the part I bolded. If you're using spontaneous casting to cast a different spell than the one you prepared, then I don't think you'd be able to use fervor to cast it as a swift action.

It's not as clear-cut as that, actually.

Quote:
Spontaneous Casting of Cure and Inflict Spells: A good cleric (or a cleric of a good deity) can spontaneously cast a cure spell in place of a prepared spell of the same level or higher, but not in place of a bonus domain spell. An evil cleric (or a cleric of an evil deity) can spontaneously cast an inflict spell in place of a prepared spell (that is not a domain spell) of the same level or higher. Each neutral cleric of a neutral deity spontaneously casts either cure spells like a good cleric or inflict spells like an evil one, depending on which option the player chooses when creating the character. The divine energy of the spell that the cure or inflict spell substitutes for is converted into the cure or inflict spell as if that spell had been prepared all along.

Except...

Quote:
Fervor (Su): At 2nd level, a warpriest can draw upon the power of his faith to heal wounds or harm foes. He can also use this ability to quickly cast spells that aid in his struggles.

Remembering this last Saturday could have helped my warpriest. Sigh.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Just started looking at the warpriest All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions