Readied Actions, Triggers and Maintaining.


Rules Questions


So, some questions arised on a discussion.
The thread was long, as I tried to explain and then requestes rules, but long story short:

Let's say I have a readieda action like "if someone cast, I cast X", or "If someone attack the wizard I attack him".

So, now,my "opponent" (in this thread, obv :)) said that if a caster cast a quicken spell and then a normal spell, if I don't take the readied action at the quicken spell time, I can't take the readied action for the second cast, because I can't going "in the middle of his initiative". So I asked what happens if I use a trigger like "if someone attack the wizard I'll attack him", and he said that on a full round attack, if I don't take the action at the first attack I can't take a redied action in the subsequent attack, though if some other attacks the wizard I can take the readied action. Basically, he says that I had the chance to take the readied action only when the trigger first occurs, and if I don't take it at that time, I can never more take that action for that target, no matter how many times the target triggers the readied action. Then, he said even that nowhere it's said that if you don't take your readied action the readied action remain readied.

So, ruleswise and developers posts and faq at hand:
1) do you mantain the readied action if you don't take it the first time the trigger occurs (id say yes, because the rules said the if you don't take your readied action until your turn, your action is lost - so trigger or not, if you choose to not take it, you mantain the readied action until the start of your next turn)?

2) with a generic trigger like the ones above, can I choose to not take the readied action when the trigger first occurs, and waiting for another trigger?
3) even on the same target?


Your GM was pulling stuff out of his butt.

Swift actions are not immune to being interrupted by readied actions.
You most certainly can go in the middle of someone's initiative. If the caster moves somewhere and then casts you are going in the middle of his initiative. If you ready for when someone comes within a specific range you are going in the middle of their initiative. Both of these are pretty basic scenarios that are fully allowed by the rules.


thorin001 wrote:

Your GM was pulling stuff out of his butt.

Swift actions are not immune to being interrupted by readied actions.
You most certainly can go in the middle of someone's initiative. If the caster moves somewhere and then casts you are going in the middle of his initiative. If you ready for when someone comes within a specific range you are going in the middle of their initiative. Both of these are pretty basic scenarios that are fully allowed by the rules.

Wait, don't be so harsh :)

It's not my dm, is a friend on fb. The scenario was "The wiazrd suspect that the fighter has a readied action against his spells, so he cast a swift useless spell, and then a normal spell, if the fighter has readied "if someone cast I attack him", can the fighter forgo the readied on the first trigger, and then attack on the second?"

Sovereign Court

There's nothing in the Ready rules against interrupting someone in the middle of his turn.

But it's controversial if you have to respond to the first trigger or drop the ready, or if you can respond to later triggers instead.

Last time this came up most people believed that you have to respond to the first trigger or give up the ready, but we couldn't find clear rules saying so.


Is there any reason for the fighter to suspect the wizard of opening with a useless spell?


Forseti wrote:
Is there any reason for the fighter to suspect the wizard of opening with a useless spell?

Does it matter? If the fghter can identify the spell via spellcraft he detect the spell as useless.


Spellcraft would be a reason. And yes, it would matter to me. I detest meta-gaming.


Forseti wrote:
Spellcraft would be a reason. And yes, it would matter to me. I detest meta-gaming.

I'm assuming that the fighter would have some mean to detect the first spell as harmless or useless. But I didn't ask about metagame, I asked about the rules.


Ready an action for the first spell longer the a swift action being cast. Meh.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Some of the issues with this is that ready also moves your initiative to the point your ready triggers. You can't choose to "take your ready" on the second time an event happens. You'd need to say "I ready for the second time X happens, do Y".


James Risner wrote:

Some of the issues with this is that ready also moves your initiative to the point your ready triggers. You can't choose to "take your ready" on the second time an event happens. You'd need to say "I ready for the second time X happens, do Y".

Disagree. Do you have a rules citation to support this?

Like an AoO, you aren't required to take the first opportunity given to you, but if another arrives and you haven't used it, you can then.

Readied Actions wrote:


Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.

Anytime. Not the first time that condition occurs.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Hmm I’m wrong on the first it seems. It still moves your initiative if you do use it which can be annoying.


My question is:

When i set the trigger for enemy entred a space next to me.

so my readied action will occur before the action that trigger the condition. if then the enemy have to go back to his start square who he comes from?

i think such a condition trigger is not valid when you ask me.
the trigger should be less specific like when enemy will make a move.

what do you think?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Readied Actions, Triggers and Maintaining. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions