| KingTreyIII |
| 5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I'll be jumping between three books, so bear with me.
The First Mother's Fang gets a constrictor snake as a mount instead of the regular choices. The cavalier's Mount class feature says that "the mount is always considered combat trained," with being "combat trained" giving the mount a package of six tricks. BUT the core rule book states that "if a package includes more than three tricks, the animal must have an Intelligence score of 2." However, the riding constrictor has an Intelligence of 1, which brings me to my question: Does the riding constrictor get the "combat trained" tricks as bonus tricks, or is its Intelligence treated as 2 for this purpose or what? This is for a Pathfinder Society character if that makes a difference.
Orshelack
|
Sorry I don't have an answer, just posting to say I'm curious about this as well.
I went so far as to build the character in Hero Lab, and it gives the mount the "Combat Trained" trick package, but then pops up a validation error saying "Too Many Tricks (6 of 4)". The other part of this is probably more a Hero Lab issue, but it won't allow me to remove any of the tricks to fit within the limit.
My guess is that either they thought the constrictor had 2 Int or that it is treated as int 2 just for starting with those tricks. The problem then becomes what to do if you increase its Int, or when it gets more bonus tricks from leveling.
Here's hoping we can get some kind of answer, or at least a consensus.
Chandrabha
|
Raise Dead
Help please. We have:
The mount is always considered combat trained and begins play with Light Armor Proficiency as a bonus feat. A cavalier’s mount does not gain the share spells special ability.
1) Cavalier's rule, giving a proficiency with light armor to your mount.
Serpentine (belt, eyes, headband): Basilosaurus, constrictor snake, electric eel, giant leech, giant moray eel, giant slug, reef snake, spitting cobra, titanoboa, viper
2) Rule that snake can not wear magic armor without a special feat (extra item slot).
Here is a link to the FAQ. So far, my temporary conclusion is that the snake can wear non-magical armor, and for magical armor, my snake needs extra item slot feat.
How do you see this problem? I will be very grateful for the answers.
| LordKailas |