What is a hand?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

I am having trouble parsing out a number of abilities that are centered around having a free "hand", such as Slashing Grace.

If I replace the hands with claws -- such as the draconic bloodline Claws ability -- do the claws still count as "hands" for purposes of off hand?

If I shape shift into an ape, does one of my slam attacks count as a free hand?

If I am polymorphed into a bat, I can carry things, but do I have hands?

Silver Crusade

For the first two, you're not trading in your hands, you're giving them extra stuff, they're still hands and count for things like Slashing Grace.

As for the Bat thing? I don't believe so, but I could be wrong. Not all that knowledgeable on polymorph ramifications.

Sczarni

There is no one answer to this question, because different Developers and authors have had their own interpretations when writing a variety of abilities.

There are physical hands (snakes have 0, humans have 2, kasatha have 4), and then there are metaphorical hands (snakes have 2, humans have 2, and kasatha have N).

Somewhere in there is mixed primary hand and off-hand.

It's best to ask a specific question, such as "Does X work", rather than a general application regarding "hands".

Silver Crusade

Nefreet wrote:

There is no one answer to this question, because different Developers and authors have had their own interpretations when writing a variety of abilities.

There are physical hands (snakes have 0, humans have 2, kasatha have 4), and then there are metaphorical hands (snakes have 2, humans have 2, and kasatha have N).

Somewhere in there is mixed primary hand and off-hand.

It's best to ask a specific question, such as "Does X work", rather than a general application regarding "hands".

Please elaborate, Nefreeti. My mind is grasping still after ten minutes at snakes have 2 hands.


Oli Ironbar wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

There is no one answer to this question, because different Developers and authors have had their own interpretations when writing a variety of abilities.

There are physical hands (snakes have 0, humans have 2, kasatha have 4), and then there are metaphorical hands (snakes have 2, humans have 2, and kasatha have N).

Somewhere in there is mixed primary hand and off-hand.

It's best to ask a specific question, such as "Does X work", rather than a general application regarding "hands".

Please elaborate, Nefreeti. My mind is grasping still after ten minutes at snakes have 2 hands.

It is possible for a creature to have 0 physical and metaphysical hands. Snakes fall into this category. A snake can does not have hands for any purpose at all.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Dang, this is serious. I was going to say "the dangly bit at the end of your arm, attached at the wrist."


A good rule of thumb for Slashing Grace? If you're not trying to do exactly what it says on the tin (i.e. you're not doing anything at all with your other hand) the odds are pretty good that it doesn't work.

So claw attacks and slams are out, and I'm pretty sure a bat's hands are its wings (the little bit that sticks out at the top of the wing is a bat's thumb).

Sczarni

Oli Ironbar wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

There is no one answer to this question, because different Developers and authors have had their own interpretations when writing a variety of abilities.

There are physical hands (snakes have 0, humans have 2, kasatha have 4), and then there are metaphorical hands (snakes have 2, humans have 2, and kasatha have N).

Somewhere in there is mixed primary hand and off-hand.

It's best to ask a specific question, such as "Does X work", rather than a general application regarding "hands".

Please elaborate, Nefreeti. My mind is grasping still after ten minutes at snakes have 2 hands.

Two examples:

If snakes didn't have two "hands" (notice the quotation marks), they'd take a penalty on grapple checks, as you need two "hands" free.

An Awakened snake wearing armor (via stitches) with armor spikes and a tail blade would be capable of using their primary "hand" and off-"hand" for two-weapon fighting.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Did you ever hear a story, possibly as a cautionary tale, about someone telling a small lie, then having to tell a bigger one to cover for it, leading to another, and another, and more until it's such a huge and complex web that they finally lose track of it and it collapses?

This is kind of like that. They put out a much desired Dex to Damage feat, but in order to try to head off perceptions of overpoweredness (as well as potentially cut off Magus from any non-scimitar options), they rewrote the free hand restriction into it. Similarly, to stamp out questions about dual wielding with a two-handed weapon and either kicks/boot knife, headbutt/stone lord helmet, barbazu beard, or armor spikes, the concept of metaphorical hands of effort was introduced. Perhaps the most unintuitive and esoteric way possible to say "Guys, no. We don't want this.".

So, in answer to your question, hands have mostly been a limiting tool used to sculpt the gaming experience desired by the powers that be. If you're running a non-PFS game, hands are what you want them to be; do with them as best suits your needs (I suggest leniency in service to fun).

Sczarni

Scythia wrote:
So, in answer to your question, hands have mostly been a limiting tool used to sculpt the gaming experience desired by the powers that be.

Oh I like that. I'm going to use that going forward.


Oli Ironbar wrote:
If I replace the hands with claws -- such as the draconic bloodline Claws ability -- do the claws still count as "hands" for purposes of off hand?

Yes. Just... don't ask me for a rules quote.

Quote:
If I shape shift into an ape, does one of my slam attacks count as a free hand?

Probably not. An Attack is an Attack, not an appendage. An ape does have two hands though, so as long as one is empty, you have an empty hand.

Quote:
If I am polymorphed into a bat, I can carry things, but do I have hands?

No. You have feet and wings. It's the feet you could use to carry things. You cannot have a free hand, as you simply do not have a hand.

All that said, "hand" is, as pointed out by other posters, more of a theoretical, metaphysical and nebulous concept to a lot of the game's rules than an actual body-part. So just apply a pinch of logic, a smidgeon of balance and two heaps of what-is-the-most-fun to whatever the exact problem in your case might be.

Liberty's Edge

Scythia wrote:


So, in answer to your question, hands have mostly been a limiting tool used to sculpt the gaming experience desired by the powers that be. If you're running a non-PFS game, hands are what you want them to be; do with them as best suits your needs (I suggest leniency in service to fun).

Scythia post is mostly true, even if a bit abrasive, but in a home game hands are what the GM say they are.

The best option is to ask him/her.


Nefreet wrote:
Oli Ironbar wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

There is no one answer to this question, because different Developers and authors have had their own interpretations when writing a variety of abilities.

There are physical hands (snakes have 0, humans have 2, kasatha have 4), and then there are metaphorical hands (snakes have 2, humans have 2, and kasatha have N).

Somewhere in there is mixed primary hand and off-hand.

It's best to ask a specific question, such as "Does X work", rather than a general application regarding "hands".

Please elaborate, Nefreeti. My mind is grasping still after ten minutes at snakes have 2 hands.

Two examples:

If snakes didn't have two "hands" (notice the quotation marks), they'd take a penalty on grapple checks, as you need two "hands" free.

An Awakened snake wearing armor (via stitches) with armor spikes and a tail blade would be capable of using their primary "hand" and off-"hand" for two-weapon fighting.

The not-enough-hands penalty on grapple checks only applies to "humanoid creatures," and therefore not to snakes.

Combat wrote:
Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll.

(Note that "humanoid" is for once being used as an adjective, not as a noun; a druid wildshaped into a snake (still type humanoid) doesn't get the penalty either.)

Your awakened example looks right to me, though.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

What is a Hand?
*throws goblet to the floor with a crash*
A miserable pile of fingers.


taks wrote:
Dang, this is serious. I was going to say "the dangly bit at the end of your arm, attached at the wrist."

Mine doesn't really dangle much, should I be concerned?


Chromantic Durgon <3 wrote:
Mine doesn't really dangle much, should I be concerned?

Give it a slap on the wrist, maybe that will set it straight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What is a hand? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions