Alchemist / / Bard gestalt + Craft Wondrous Item


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I've read and re-read the Crafting Magic Items text, and I really just can't understand how crafting works when it comes to their interaction with extracts. I'm playing an alchemist//bard gestalt, so the character qualifies for Craft Wondrous Items. I've got the necessary Craft and Spellcraft skills maxed, as well as UMD if needed. Question is, if a required spell for an item is not on my bard's spell list, but my alchemist has it as a formula, can that be used to make the item?

And what about if the spell is on neither of their lists, am I allowed to make a UMD check to cast it from a scroll with a DC of 20+CL required to cast the spell?


i wana say yes but even if they cant not having a spell on your list only adds +5 to the craft dc


Formulas/extracts mostly don't help with making magic items. The Material Mastery discovery lets you use an extract to reduce the penalty for not having the right spell from 5 to 2 though. I don't think this would help when making scrolls, potions, wands or staves as for those you have to have the required spell.

& yes, you can use a scroll to supply the required spell. If you're making an item which requires more than one day to create you'd need one scroll per day which would rapidly become impractical.


Ah, ok yeah that's not gonna be practical if I have to buy that many scroll. In any case, didn't realize it's just a +5 DC for each spell I don't have. That's definitely doable!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist / / Bard gestalt + Craft Wondrous Item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.