Does gaining access to a bonded object at later levels mean paying replacement cost?


Rules Questions


Bard with eldritch heritage-Arcane, there isn't a way to "begin play with one at no cost."

But I'm not replacing a bonded item either.


arcane bond wrote:
Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality. Weapons acquired at 1st level are not made of any special material.

So, you'd only need to have a masterwork item that will become your bonded object. Since you didn't begin play, it's not free.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I do not believe that someone who multi-classes into wizard (to take an easier example) is required to spend the gold to "replace" either a bonded object or a familiar. Pathfinder doesn't care what order you take your class levels in. So the bard taking Eldritch Heritage (Arcane) shouldn't have to pay either.

Enjoy your free mwk whatever.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm with Fuzzy-Wuzzy: it should be free the first time you get the object, even if that's not at 1st level.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would agree if he took a level in the wizard class, it's be free just like his spell book would be. But this is the Eldritch Heritage feat giving him access to the arcane bloodline first level ability.

"At 1st level, you gain an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to your sorcerer level."

I'd say he'd have to already have a masterwork version of whatever he's using.

He's not a wizard, so he's not beginning play with anything.


I actually have a vested interest, as i am goint to be playing a MT in a pbp.
I am taking the levels in arcane from 2nd to 5th.

Would i be getting the mwk staff for free at 2nd level, or would i have to spend the money to get it?


If your taking levels in in a class that gives you arcane bond (ie: wizard) then you'll get it free just like your spell book would be free. The eldritch heritage feat with the arcane bloodline I would argue you'd have to buy a masterwork item.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Koi Eokei wrote:
If your taking levels in in a class that gives you arcane bond (ie: wizard) then you'll get it free just like your spell book would be free. The eldritch heritage feat with the arcane bloodline I would argue you'd have to buy a masterwork item.

The rules state that you gain one. That would be like saying using it to get a familiar you'd have to spend the gold to get a new familiar. It states you "gain" it, not "you must buy one." So I have to disagree. RAW is that you gain the item just like a wizard. You adding extra stipulations to that is entirely houseruled and not the actual rules. Which is fine for your games (though I would recomend informing your players that before the first level arcane bloodline wizard can't start with their masterwork dagger).


The assumption is that your character had been working on achieving the object or familiar in his downtime before you gained the new level.


thanks for all the responses, not really concerned about the masterwork part(he is at level 17). Just the replacement cost, as that would be significant. Seems RAW I am not replacing it, that should satisfy my DM.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Meager Rolmug wrote:
thanks for all the responses, not really concerned about the masterwork part(he is at level 17). Just the replacement cost, as that would be significant. Seems RAW I am not replacing it, that should satisfy my DM.

RAW you get a free new weapon. If you have an existing weapon that you want to use for your arcane bond, then you need to pay to move the bond to a new item. The previous bonded item is now a free masterwork item that you can sell (at least in non-PFS games, no resale value in PFS).


Yes, RAW a 1st level wizard gets a free bonded item. The feat gives you access to the sorcerer bloodline at -2 levels.

"You gain the first-level bloodline power for the selected bloodline. For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2, even if you have levels in sorcerer."

"At 1st level, wizards form a powerful bond with an object or a creature. This bond can take one of two forms: a familiar or a bonded object.."

Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost."

He's not a 1st level wizard and he's not beginning play. He's a -1st level wizard.

The feat gives you access to a bloodline power, doesn't make to a wizard beginning play. He's not taking a level in sorcerer either, he's picking up a feat.


But if he already has an item at 17th level to use, which he should, this argument is moot. But a first level character picking up the feat isn't going to be so lucky.

RAW says it has to be masterwork. RAW says A wizard gets it free. I would agree a sorcerer who picks the bloodline at first gets it free. Another character at -2 levels is going to have a hard time proving he's a first level wizard.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Koi Eokei wrote:

But if he already has an item at 17th level to use, which he should, this argument is moot. But a first level character picking up the feat isn't going to be so lucky.

RAW says it has to be masterwork. RAW says A wizard gets it free. I would agree a sorcerer who picks the bloodline at first gets it free. Another character at -2 levels is going to have a hard time proving he's a first level wizard.

Arcane Bloodline wrote:
Arcane Bond (Su): At 1st level, you gain an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to your sorcerer level.

Hence a 3rd-level character taking Eldritch Heritage (Arcane) gains an arcane bond as a 1st-level wizard.

Should a 17th-level character gain less than an 3rd-level character?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does gaining access to a bonded object at later levels mean paying replacement cost? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.