
kadance |

Between Bloodline, Patron, and Shaman familiars, there's a lot of nonstandard abilities for familiars out there.
How do the various nonstandard familiar options play together?
If a shaman takes a level of witch, can s/he add a patron ability to it?
Next level is in sorcerer or bloodrager, can they stack a bloodline ability on it?
Does an improved familiar retain the special ability (or all of them if they stack)?

JDLPF |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Levels of different classes that are entitled to familiars stack for the purpose of determining any familiar abilities that depend on the witch’s level. If a witch possesses such levels, her familiar always uses the witch rules for familiars, not those provided by other classes, such as wizards or sorcerers with the arcane bloodline.
If you take a level of Witch, your familiar is treated as a standard Witch familiar. It loses any and all special abilities from other classes and just uses the witch rules for familiars, though the other class levels stack to determine the witch familiar's abilities.

Zarius |
You can have one familiar. You can have one Animal Companion. There are certain classes that will ADD to the levels of one or the other (such as JDLPF's example with the Witch familiar, or the Boon Companion feat), but you can't take the first level perks from three different classes. Not unless you also take the Extra Familiar feat for each one past the first (Third party feat, http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/3rd-party-feats/kobold-press/general-feats-3r d-party-kobold-press/extra-familiar/ ).
That's it. Sorry, man.
Improved familiars work the same way, they just also get whatever special stuff the base improved familiar gets.

kadance |

@JDLPF: Actually, the shaman class supersedes the witch in regards to familiars.
@Zarius: As each class's first level familiar ability intrinsically refers to the first level taken in that class and not the first character level, how do you support your position that multiple first level only familiar abilities cannot be taken?