Bloodline development questions


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

This thread focuses on the last paragraph of the bloodline development arcanist exploit.

the paragraph:
If the arcanist already has a bloodline (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted her access to the bloodline when determining the powers and abilities of her bloodline.

Now... What does this mean, exactly? Some questions about this:

1. Can this be used with both sorcerer and bloodrager lines?

2. Powers I understand, but abilities? Does that include bonus spells? Are they then added to your spells known? I.E. your spellbook?
If abilities does not include bonus spells, what does it include? Certainly not feats, right?

3. How does the bloodline arcana stack? Does it suddenly pertain to arcanist spells? Consider, for example, the psychic bloodline. It specifically calls out sorcerer spells. Does bloodline development allow that to include arcanist spells?

psychic bloodline arcana:
Your sorcerer spells and spell-like abilities count as psychic instead of arcane. You use thought and emotion components instead of verbal and somatic components when casting your spells.

4. How do a crossblooded sorcerer's bloodlines stack? I mean, the archetype is no longer effective on the arcanist. So, no dent in spells known, right? And do you get all powers and "abilities" from both bloodlines? Or do you still have to choose, as per the archetype?
And if the archetype actually still counts, whatever would stop a bloodline altering archetype like seeker from still working here?

I'm asking all this mainly because I honestly couldn't find the answers, and partly because I'm brooding on a crossblooded psychic / esoteric dragon bloodlines sorcerer (1) and arcanist or exploiter wizard (rest). There are so many vagaries!


I don't know about the psychic bloodline, but all other bloodline arcanas apply to all spells cast regardless of class. Psychic is weird because it calls out sorcerer spells.


Both bloodline feats and bonus spells are separate class features than bloodline powers, so there is no ambiguity there. This also pretty much solves crossblooded: your Arcanist spells and other features are as usual, but you can pick which bloodline power you get.
The psychic issue is weird though.


The Psychic Bloodline should have been made as an archetype instead of a "normal" Bloodline, in contrast to most of the Wildblooded Bloodlines, which should have been made as normal Bloodlines related to their parent Bloodlines in a way analogous to Subdomains of Cleric/Druid Domains.

Silver Crusade

Alright, so far:

1.?

2. Ok, so only powers and arcana, then. The "abilities" is just a word added for flavour, I guess.

3. Ok, so the arcana doesn't really stack. In fact, you could just have a level of sorcerer and then go full witch and it would still work, right?

4. So, you get your choice of powers from either bloodline, but don't lose spells, although you've already lost a progression level by multiclassing in the first place.

Amirite?

PS: Also, the psychic bloodline apparently only works for sorcerers, not for blooded arcanists or anyone else using the bloodline.


1. Can you progress a Bloodline other than Sorcerer? A bit tricky since Bloodline Development by default selects a Sorcerer Bloodline; however, the part about progressing a Bloodline of another class DOESN'T specify Sorcerer, so it should work.

2. Going by the example of the Blood Arcanist archetype (which you use instead of Bloodline Development and a Sorcerer/Bloodrager dip(*) if you want a full Sorcerer Bloodline without losing spellcasting progression, you don't get that Bloodline's the class skill, bonus feats, or bonus spells.

(*)Another possibility would be to start out as an Arcanist (not Blood Arcanist), take Bloodline Development (Draconic of the type you are going to choose later) and then go into Dragon Disciple, which gives you a Draconic Bloodline (choose the same one you chose for Bloodline Development), at which point Bloodline Development lets you count all your Arcanist levels towards your Draconic Bloodline. Arcanists prepare all their spells before casting them spontaneously, so you are going to have to find a way to meet the Dragon Disciple requirement to be able to cast 1st level spells without preparation. Other than a dip into Bard/Skald/Sorcerer, possibilities include White Mage Arcanist (get spontaneous casting of Cure-series spells and eventually Breath of Life); Magaambyan Initiate Arcanist (get spontaneous casting of a few Cleric spells) (note that Magaambyan Arcanist prestige class DOESN'T do this); or Preferred Spell (you choose a spell from your spellbook that you want to be able to cast spontaneously by sacrificing a spell slot of the same or higher level).

3. As long as the Bloodline Arcana text doesn't have anything level-dependent in it (can't think of an example off-hand) or specify only Sorcerer spells (Psychic Bloodline), you should be fine.

4. Bloodline Development only lets you select one Bloodline, and doesn't have text letting you select it another time with a different Bloodline, so no Crossblooded progression.

Silver Crusade

I've never read 'blood of dragons' from dragon disciple in a way that would give the arcana... Just the powers...

But those would increase through bloodline development, yes

As to not allowing crossblooded... The archetype kinda alters your bloodline to mix two bloodlines into one. So a case could be made to allow it to work.


^Rereading Blood of Dragons from Dragon Disciple, it looks like you're right -- so you would get full Draconic Bloodline Power progression the way I posted, but not the Bloodline Arcana.

Also rereading Bloodline Development, it says "The arcanist must select an ordinary bloodline with this ability, not one altered by an archetype", which means no Crossblooded progression (since Crossblooded is seen as an archetype). I thought I had seen that somewhere, but somehow skimmed over it when making my last post.

Silver Crusade

You're right, I misread that, thank you.


The arcanist can only select a normal bloodline for the first part of the ability, but the ability changes form when used to count your level towards another bloodline class. In that case, advancing a modified bloodline may be possible.

"If the arcanist already has a bloodline (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted her access to the bloodline when determining the powers and abilities of her bloodline."


^Upon rereading it again, I guess it DOESN'T say that the Bloodline chosen for Bloodline Development has to be exactly the same as an actual Bloodline that you have (or manifest later).

Which gets back to something else that I want to use Bloodline Development for, which is to progress a Bloodrager Bloodline in order to do this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bloodline development questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions