Cross-Blooded Bloodrager Draconic / Arcane Dragon Disciple


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

How does the Dragon Disciple stack when you factor in a Cross-Blooded Bloodrager? I plan to take the lv 4 and lv 8 ability of Arcane Bloodline but otherwise Dragon Bloodline powers. Please note FAQ states Bloodrager bloodlines do count for purposes of Dragon Disciple prestige class.

The Dragon Disciple ability Blood of Dragons:

A dragon disciple adds his level to his *Bloodrager levels when determining the powers gained from his bloodline. If the dragon disciple does not have levels of *Bloodrager, he instead gains bloodline powers of the draconic bloodline, using his dragon disciple level as his *Bloodrager level to determine the bonuses gained. He must choose a dragon type upon gaining his first level in this class and that type must be the same as his *Bloodrager type. This ability does not grant bonus spells to a Bloodrager unless he possesses spell slots of an appropriate level. Such bonus spells are automatically granted if the *Bloodrager gains spell slots of the spell’s level.

How does that work with my Arcane Bloodline levels? As written it seems it increases both as the increase wording does not specify Draconic.

Also at 3rd level Dragon Disciple I gain Breath Weapon:

At 3rd level, a dragon disciple gains the breath weapon bloodline power, even if his level does not yet grant that power. Once his level is high enough to grant this ability through the bloodline, the dragon disciple gains an additional use of his breath weapon each day. The type and shape of the breath weapon depends on the type of dragon selected by the dragon disciple, as detailed under the Draconic sorcerer bloodline description.

As I swapped out my Breath Weapon Bloodline power how does that work? Do I still gain the Dragon Disciple breath weapon? Do I gain an additional use when I am at the level I would have gotten the Bloodrager breath weapon?

I want to make a Society character so need the most "Official" interpretation possible. I know in a home game it would be as easy as asking the GM.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I have a similar character - cross-blooded sorcerer with abyssal and draconic bloodlines, and a dragon disciple. Given that cross-blooded grants you access to both, I look at it that you have a single bloodline that is made up of two different bloodlines. The dragon disciple levels would add to that single bloodline allowing you to pick the powers from either.

With regards to the breath weapon, the 3rd level of dragon disciple grants you the breath weapon - whether you have it yet or not. And you should pick up another use since your level is high enough to have gotten it, even though you chose to forgo it for a different power.

I did a similar thing with the wings, I took added summoning from the abyssal bloodline. And I'm waiting for 9th level DD to get the wings.

Other than the description of Cross-blooded which states that you can mix and match the powers, I don't think you're going to find a clear rule that states how it should work when combined with something that boosts your level with regards to what powers you have access to. I mean would the robes of arcane heritage only apply to one of the two bloodlines?

Silver Crusade

That sounds about how I suspected. Thanks for the feedback!


Crossblooded is FAQ'd I believe to state that it is just 1 bloodline for the character, not two, and it does qualify for the requirement of dragon blood, so yes, it increases your bloodline and when you gain powers you still get to choose.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cross-Blooded Bloodrager Draconic / Arcane Dragon Disciple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions