mounted charge with lance


Rules Questions


a character that is mounted is considered to be in every square the mount is in, does this include when charging? Can you not charge right up to an enemy and hit it within 5' with the lance, so that your mount may also attack? How exactly does this mechanic work? How does the mount, or does it even, get an attack with a lanced mounted charge? What about if the rider were to take ride by attack, would that change it all?


Technically your mount would not be able to attack. Which technically also prevents it from charging. Which means you cannot do a mounted lance charge.

Technically You need Ride By Attack for the mount to be able to charge, you get your attack (with a reach weapon) and for the mount to continue moving and make an attack.

However, most people agree that this is not the intended way for the rules to work.

The mounted combat rules are a mess when you actually try to look at them. This has been noted many times on the forums, if you care to share around for it.

Dark Archive

Get a mount with reach. Then you both can charge, otherwise only you get to make the attack.


Yep, welcome to mounted charges and the rules that aren't clear/don't work.
Talk to your GM. If you're the GM talk to your table. If PFS, talk to as many there as you can on how they view it.


Claxon wrote:
if you care to share around for it.

Search around for it. The word I was looking for was search.


Claxon wrote:

Technically your mount would not be able to attack. Which technically also prevents it from charging. Which means you cannot do a mounted lance charge.

Technically You need Ride By Attack for the mount to be able to charge, you get your attack (with a reach weapon) and for the mount to continue moving and make an attack.

However, most people agree that this is not the intended way for the rules to work.

The mounted combat rules are a mess when you actually try to look at them. This has been noted many times on the forums, if you care to share around for it.

Not true. You MAY make an attack at the end of a charge, you are not required to. So there is nothing preventing the mount from charging when it cannot attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / mounted charge with lance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions