|
|
The "Work as a Team" boon allows a player to give his free reroll to another player even is she has already used her own free reroll.
Would this allow you to give a player a second reroll on the situation?
For example:
Player A rolls a Will Save and gets a 2 on the D20. It's a dire situation, so he uses his free reroll . The free reroll comes up a 1.
Player B has the GM Star Reward with the Work as a Team Boon. He figures player A is in a pretty tough spot. Could he give his free reroll to player A to get a second reroll on the will save?
|
So I always thought that you could only ever get one reroll per roll. So the answer to your example would be no. However, it's always good to double check. And actually, in looking through the guides from S4 to S8, I can found something interesting. This bolded line of text that's in S4-S7 was removed in the S8 guide.
No player may receive more than one free reroll per session.
Given that its no longer restricted thusly, I would say, yes, you could reroll the same roll a second time with that boon. However, without reading the boon you have in question, I'm not 100% on this answer.
|
|
So I always thought that you could only ever get one reroll per roll. So the answer to your example would be no. However, it's always good to double check. And actually, in looking through the guides from S4 to S8, I can found something interesting. This bolded line of text that's in S4-S7 was removed in the S8 guide.
Quote:No player may receive more than one free reroll per session.Given that its no longer restricted thusly, I would say, yes, you could reroll the same roll a second time with that boon. However, without reading the boon you have in question, I'm not 100% on this answer.
Given some of the issues in season 8s effort to trim down some of the chatter I'm more likely to think it was an editing thing rather than letting someone play strip poker with 14 paizo shirts a bag and a folio
|
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
Here is the text of the boon:
____
From this text, I think it is clear that you can give that other player a second reroll at the expense of your own. GM Star rewards are kind of special things. Since they can only be applied sparingly, I think it does exactly what it says and grants that reroll.
Hmm
|
|
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
From this text, I think it is clear that you can give that other player a second reroll at the expense of your own. GM Star rewards are kind of special things. Since they can only be applied sparingly, I think it does exactly what it says and grants that reroll.
I believe we can all agree with that. However, if I'm understanding Kifaru's original question, he's asking if this gifted reroll can be used to reroll a reroll (in effect, letting a player reroll a single d20 roll twice). Personally, I see no reason not to allow this boon to be used in this manner and, barring a contradictory ruling from campaign leadership, I'd allow it at my table(s).
To paraphrase Gertrude Stein, "Reroll is a reroll is a reroll is a reroll."Hmm, I'm pretty certain my answer is just a reiteration of yours.
|
|
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
Kifaru wrote:While I agree with you, I don't think 5 responses with only a few of them definitively stating their thoughts on the matter count as a "consensus".Thanks for the feedback.
It looks like there is, more or less, a general consensus that it should work.
five people all agreeing on something, in this crowd? Its not just consensus it's a minor miracle.
|
|
I know. But I thought that response might get a few more people to chime in, so I could indeed get something close to a consensus.
This is something I would really like to use. This ability could really save someone's bacon at a crucial junction. But I would like a little more rubust discussion on whether this was intended as a possibility when the boon was created.
|
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
The boon in question has text specifically exempting it from the restriction that only one re-roll is permitted per character in a given session. If it was supposed to be limited to still not allowing more than one re-roll on a specific check, it should have had that limitation spelled out. Without such a restriction in the rules of the boon itself, I think it's intended to be allowed to be used at any time.