
Karlgamer |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Under Damaging Magic Items it reads:
A magic item doesn't need to make a saving throw unless it is unattended, it is specifically targeted by the effect, or its wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save.
These crystalline stones always float in the air and must be within 3 feet of their owner to be of any use. When a character first acquires a stone, she must hold it and then release it, whereupon it takes up a circling orbit 1d3 feet from her head. Thereafter, a stone must be grasped or netted to separate it from its owner. The owner may voluntarily seize and stow a stone (to keep it safe while she is sleeping, for example), but she loses the benefits of the stone during that time. Ioun stones have AC 24, 10 hit points, and hardness 5.
Because the Ioun stone isn't being held or actively looked after should I consider it unattended for the purpose of making it roll a saving throw?

Karlgamer |

Although the definition for "attended"(and thus unattended) a little up in the air:
Under Saving Throws
(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.
and,
under Breaking and Entering
Saving Throws: Nonmagical, unattended items never make saving throws. They are considered to have failed their saving throws, so they are always fully affected by spells and other attacks that allow saving throws to resist or negate. An item attended by a character (being grasped, touched, or worn) makes saving throws as the character (that is, using the character's saving throw bonus).
If you favor specific over general an Ioun stone that is floating around your head is neither being grasped, touched, or worn and as such is unattended.
What "or the like" is suppose to mean I don't know but considering that the description for the Iona stone gives you the AC, Hardness, and Hitpoints(most magic items don't list this information) it seems apparent that you are suppose to be able to target them.
Also, they float 1d3 feet from your head so apparently they don't strictly dodge when you dodge so it seems a little silly to allow your Iona stones your reflex saves.
Ioun stones give you extra magic item slots. I think the fact that they could easily be destroyed gives this sword the double edge it's suppose to have.