Divine Interference? Which creature is which?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

As an immediate action, when an enemy within 30 feet hits an ally with an attack, you can sacrifice a prepared divine spell or (if you are a spontaneous caster) an unused spell slot and make the enemy reroll the attack roll. The second attack roll takes a penalty equal to the level of the spell you sacrifice. You must sacrifice a spell of 1st-level or higher to use this ability. Whether or not the second attack is successful, you cannot use this effect on the same creature again for 1 day.

Emphasis bold... is the creature referred to the enemy or the ally? FAQ? Thanks!


The effect is used against the enemy, so that is my thought.


My reading as well, the enemy is making the second roll with a penalty, so he's the target of the effect.


I have always read it the same as Sissyl and Alderic. Prevents spamming DI with low levels spells on a single enemy, which makes good sense to me.


Moe to the point, the ally is only involved in the timing of when it triggers. The enemy is the only thing targeted by the effect.


Hmmm. Nice option to keep your party safe from death-by-crit.

Dark Archive

It seems we have a consensus that the emphasis is referring to the enemy. Thank you for providing your thoughts.

As a GM, how would you handle the timing of allowing the player with DI to use it? It stands to reason since this ability is an immediate action that it may affect after the attack roll has been confirmed as a hit. However, would you also indicate whether the attack is a critical threat prior using DI?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Whether you indicate it's a threat when you hit is entirely up to you as a GM (unless there's some rule that I'm unaware of), but most GMs I know do so since there are many factors that character's have that could influence getting critically hit.


If I remember right, a Critical confirmation roll is technically an attack rol, with all the bonuses and penalties of the original roll. Giving you the option to have them retool the first hit, or the crit confirm, which needs to hit.


The feat is nice, but has several limitations:
- it costs an immediate action; if you did a quick one in your round, it is out (or if you used up an immediate action already)
- it works once per creature, like the hexes do
- and it costs a spell

Given the lethality of crits and the limits above, we always announce possible crits and decide then and there if to use it. Otherwise it is a useless feat.

The "once per creature" limit is also a serious limit, because you can usually take care of a critical hit, if you are a healer. But if the opponent is capable of critting several times per round (= serious foe), you feel this limit. We had one fight with a hydra (14 heads), fully developed fighters (= carefully built martial), and a marilith, where a crit isn't a possibility, but a statistical certainty. The feat has it's greatest use against unlucky hits which won't repeat themselves in a hurry (a critical disintegrate, 20 with a vorpal weapon, or a crit on someone with low HP).

And don't forget, as cool as it is to negate the critter's natural 20, nothing prevents the re-roll from going critical again.

That all said, it is a nice way to save a life, but don't think you are safe from crits just because you have it ;)

Grand Lodge

Quote:
- it costs an immediate action; if you did a quick one in your round, it is out (or if you used up an immediate action already)

That's not quite how immediate actions work. You lose your Swift action next round. Taking a Swift action on your turn doesn't prevent you from using an Immediate action after your turn ends but before your next turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Divine Interference? Which creature is which? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions