
![]() |
5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I just read the spell Storm of Blades. And I noticed the spell has a material component (A sword). This means that every time you cast the spell the sword you use as a material component get destroyed. They don’t have a cost associated with the sword. And we are advised not to track components that don’t have a cost. So a caster with this spell would RAW have an unlimited number of swords. I know this is ridiculous and not at all how it was intended.
Also it seems if you wanted to destroy a magic sword at any point you could just use it as a spell component. All I need to do is get my hand on it long enough to cast the spell.
Am I reading the spell right?

PossibleCabbage |

The likely interpretations I see of this are:
- The sword that's confused is a tiny replica that is valueless and you have as many as you need.
- The spell consumes an actual sword so has a cost of at least 10gp, and intending to cast it a lot should have encumbrance concerns.
- The sword should be viewed as a focus component, not a material component.
I think each of these is a better solution than "you are carrying a ton of swords in your materials pouch."

deuxhero |
It actually goes further than that (and has been known for quite a while)
Any "sword" artifact that can fit in a component pouch (Any artifact dagger should work. I can find Vesper's Rapier as a possible option) are assumed to be in it. Similarly you can destroy any "sword" artifact easily. With False Focus or Eschew Materials you can have any artifact sword in a storm of blades (which don't actually do anything special).
With False Focus you can go with very large blades and it's still terrible even with that when compared to core damage spells because it requires an attack roll against full AC.

swoosh |
They don’t have a cost associated with the sword. And we are advised not to track components that don’t have a cost. So a caster with this spell would RAW have an unlimited number of swords. I know this is ridiculous and not at all how it was intended.
The trouble is that swords do have listed costs. It's just listed in a different section.

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

TimrehIX wrote:They don’t have a cost associated with the sword. And we are advised not to track components that don’t have a cost. So a caster with this spell would RAW have an unlimited number of swords. I know this is ridiculous and not at all how it was intended.The trouble is that swords do have listed costs. It's just listed in a different section.
Similarly, infernal healing has unholy water as a component w/o listing its price. This does not suddenly make unholy water free. It's still 25 gp per, as listed elsewhere.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

swoosh wrote:Similarly, infernal healing has unholy water as a component w/o listing its price. This does not suddenly make unholy water free. It's still 25 gp per, as listed elsewhere.TimrehIX wrote:They don’t have a cost associated with the sword. And we are advised not to track components that don’t have a cost. So a caster with this spell would RAW have an unlimited number of swords. I know this is ridiculous and not at all how it was intended.The trouble is that swords do have listed costs. It's just listed in a different section.
Or potions of bull's strength, for which the transformation spell does not specify a price. ^_^

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

swoosh wrote:Similarly, infernal healing has unholy water as a component w/o listing its price. This does not suddenly make unholy water free. It's still 25 gp per, as listed elsewhere.TimrehIX wrote:They don’t have a cost associated with the sword. And we are advised not to track components that don’t have a cost. So a caster with this spell would RAW have an unlimited number of swords. I know this is ridiculous and not at all how it was intended.The trouble is that swords do have listed costs. It's just listed in a different section.
I must withdraw the claim that unholy water costs 25 gp (or has any listed cost), as it is not supported by the PRD. That's what I get for trusting d20pfsrd.... Thank you Kalindlara for supplying a valid example.
In my defense, making unholy water definitely costs 25 gp per.

Saethori |

My spell component pouch is the bone of my speed...
Considering the spell effect specifies it cares about the sword expended, I think you have to know what sword is being used in advance.
...but can your pouch contain a theoretically infinite amount of Colossal Greatswords, then? How would you even withdraw it as a spell component?