Create Pit?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Two questions regarding this spell.

First, can the caster voluntarily reduce the depth of the pit created, or is their full caster level required for every casting of this spell?

Second, is falling into the pit based on gravity, or does the pit actual suck victims inside?

Mainly, I'm trying to figure out if a caster could ready a Create Pit spell in order to evade an attack against an ally, by creating the pit underneath them? Or, use the created pit as a trench for cover. A 10ft hole seems reasonable, but a 30ft deept hole would be very challenging to use like this. I'm also wondering if it functions on flying creatures or in areas without gravity.

Grand Lodge

A Caster can prepare or cast a spell at its minimal level.

Gravity is why the pit works.

A caster could drop a buddy, but it has to be a readied action. The ally can choose to fail the save.

Scarab Sages

Mr_Outsidevoice wrote:

A Caster can prepare or cast a spell at its minimal level.

Gravity is why the pit works.

A caster could drop a buddy, but it has to be a readied action. The ally can choose to fail the save.

Awesome, thanks. Any clue where this bit regarding preparing spells at minimal level is found? I believe you, but it would be nice to know.


Let me answer that with a question.

What range do you use to cast a spell, the range you want within the limits or the absolute of those limits?


Of note is that while you can voluntarily cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, it must still be a caster level capable of casting the spell.

Therefore, any spontaneous caster cannot cast the spell at a caster level below 4, which makes the pit 20 feet deep and makes it impossible for them to cast it at 10 deep.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Stumble Gap may be more your speed.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

actually belay that, I thought it was 5x5x5 but it is 5x5x0.5

Scarab Sages

Galnörag wrote:

actually belay that, I thought it was 5x5x5 but it is 5x5x0.5

Still a neat one, thanks.

Liberty's Edge

Expeditious Excavation may be what you are looking for. It is amazing how much dirt you can move for a 750 gp wand.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:
First, can the caster voluntarily reduce the depth of the pit created, or is their full caster level required for every casting of this spell?

You can choose to cast a spell at a lower power level.

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Second, is falling into the pit based on gravity, or does the pit actual suck victims inside?

Gravity.

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Mainly, I'm trying to figure out if a caster could ready a Create Pit spell in order to evade an attack against an ally, by creating the pit underneath them?

Sure, seems legit.

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Or, use the created pit as a trench for cover. A 10ft hole seems reasonable, but a 30ft deept hole would be very challenging to use like this.

Expeditious excavation is the spell you want.

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
I'm also wondering if it functions on flying creatures or in areas without gravity.

Well it's not that the spell itself doesn't function, but it would not have the intended effect in either situation. Flying creature and creatures in zero gravity could still go into the pit, but gravity (or lack thereof) will not make them have to make a save to just stay where they are.


Cavall wrote:

Let me answer that with a question.

What range do you use to cast a spell, the range you want within the limits or the absolute of those limits?

Range is a maximum value, not a minimum, so your comparison doesn't work.

The relevant caster level rules are HERE


andreww wrote:
Cavall wrote:

Let me answer that with a question.

What range do you use to cast a spell, the range you want within the limits or the absolute of those limits?

Range is a maximum value, not a minimum, so your comparison doesn't work.

The relevant caster level rules are HERE

It's completely relevant given that range, like caster level, is the maximum and you can adjust for a lower amount. I don't understand your point and your link isn't working for me.

Anyways, here the text you'll need, OP.

You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

Scarab Sages

Thanks.

Oh, one more. Can I use create pit to temporairly drain liquid from an area? I'd obviously still need to meet the other requirements of the spell, but providing they were met, and reasonable drainage of the terrain would allow the water to drain into the pit, would the pit absorb the water? Or does it only hold creatures?

Scarab Sages

Samish Lakefinder wrote:
Expeditious Excavation may be what you are looking for. It is amazing how much dirt you can move for a 750 gp wand.

Yes, that is much more relevent to my purposes. Thank you. Though I'm still glad I got to learn more about the Create Pit spell, since it does seem to come up alot.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:

Thanks.

Oh, one more. Can I use create pit to temporairly drain liquid from an area? I'd obviously still need to meet the other requirements of the spell, but providing they were met, and reasonable drainage of the terrain would allow the water to drain into the pit, would the pit absorb the water? Or does it only hold creatures?

Technically yes, but extremely temporarily. The pit is actual open space, water would flow into it. But remember the duration is 1 round + 1round per level, that's 6 seconds a round. And the end of the spell the bottom of the pit slowly raises pushing the water back up.


If you want a laugh, use create pit on a troop and watch them all fall into it, assuming you have it deep enough.

Scarab Sages

Kolokotroni wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:

Thanks.

Oh, one more. Can I use create pit to temporairly drain liquid from an area? I'd obviously still need to meet the other requirements of the spell, but providing they were met, and reasonable drainage of the terrain would allow the water to drain into the pit, would the pit absorb the water? Or does it only hold creatures?

Technically yes, but extremely temporarily. The pit is actual open space, water would flow into it. But remember the duration is 1 round + 1round per level, that's 6 seconds a round. And the end of the spell the bottom of the pit slowly raises pushing the water back up.

Yeah, I get that. Still, that would be enough time for quick things. For example, the PC that can't swim, but can climb, could get out of a deep puddle....Happens more often that it should.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Create Pit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.