Horror adventures questions


Rules Questions


So in HALLOWED NECROMANCER it gets positive touch, which lets it cast cure spells but only to harm undead.

in it it says,

Quote:


A number of times per day equal to 3 + her Intelligence modifier, when
she spontaneously casts a cure spell, she can either turn the
effect into a ray and increase the range to close or remove
the Will save but deal half the normal amount of damage
cure light wounds wrote:
Saving Throw Will half

So is this really saying that 3+int I can choose to have enemies auto-succeed their will save?

EDIT:
In the HAUNT COLLECTOR Occultists, can it select the same spirit multiple times? and if so, do the seance bonuses stack?


Chess Pwn wrote:

So in HALLOWED NECROMANCER it gets positive touch, which lets it cast cure spells but only to harm undead.

in it it says,

Quote:


A number of times per day equal to 3 + her Intelligence modifier, when
she spontaneously casts a cure spell, she can either turn the
effect into a ray and increase the range to close or remove
the Will save but deal half the normal amount of damage
cure light wounds wrote:
Saving Throw Will half
So is this really saying that 3+int I can choose to have enemies auto-succeed their will save?

Well, to be pedantic, there is no will save per the ability. You simply automatically do half damage. If it helps you reason through it by just reading the spell and assuming they save, the result is the same.


yeah I know the "technically", It's just that, WHY does this exist? Why make an option where I can spend my pool to be worse at something?


To answer that, I'd need more detail. I don't have Horror Adventures yet. What is Hallowed Necromancer an archetype of? Like, is it a class that doesn't normally let you cast CLW or is that spell enabled further to do other things by the archetype?

Liberty's Edge

Some abilities allow a creature to avoid all damage if they make their Will save ;-)

Silver Crusade

Good point RB.


I agree more information would be needed. But it seems to say the class already can spontaneously use cure spells. If that is the case then half of this ability is a prone shooter.


It's a wizard archetype. It can spontaneously cast cure spells, but only to harm undead, it cannot heal living.


Chess Pwn wrote:
It's a wizard archetype. It can spontaneously cast cure spells, but only to harm undead, it cannot heal living.

The Raven Black's explanation seems to make most sense, then.


Buri Reborn wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
It's a wizard archetype. It can spontaneously cast cure spells, but only to harm undead, it cannot heal living.
The Raven Black's explanation seems to make most sense, then.

The author mistakenly believing inflict/cure spells are Will negates is what makes most sense to me.

I made a potential errata thread to compile issues for future FAQ treatment and 2nd printing corrections. I included this one.


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:

The author mistakenly believing inflict/cure spells are Will negates is what makes most sense to me.

I made a potential errata thread to compile issues for future FAQ treatment and 2nd printing corrections. I included this one.

If that's the case, I'd wonder what the point of the ability is at all. It's clearly a "regardless of defenses, you do something to the target" ability.


Like I said, I think the point was intended to be that you could guarantee at least half damage, because the author mistakenly thought these spells were will negates. In his/her mind this ability did do something, because of a misunderstanding of the default rule.


It'd be nice if the author could chime in and say that that's what he thought so we know it was just a mistake.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Are you missing the change to close range as a ray, that you must make an attack roll?


James Risner wrote:
Are you missing the change to close range as a ray, that you must make an attack roll?

No one is missing that. The options are (1) ranged touch attack (and regular save Will half) or (2) touch attack but with a guarantee of half damage, no save is rolled. The problem is that (2) is a negative, you are always guaranteed half damage if you hit, so why give up the save and the possibility of full damage?

Scarab Sages

Well, several things may have stalwart or a similar ability to fully negate the effects of a will save. There is also the fact that as a ray, you can crit and get double damange.


Imbicatus wrote:
Well, several things may have stalwart or a similar ability to fully negate the effects of a will save. There is also the fact that as a ray, you can crit and get double damange.

I agree that on the planet of Golarion several things may have stalwart.

Dark Archive

As a melee touch attack you can already critical for double damage.
The ray just lets you do it from close range instead of melee.


You can crit with any spell that uses an attack roll.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No one is arguing that the ray is bad. That does something, makes it ranged instead of touch. That's cool. The, no save to do damage as if they saved part is what's... odd.


I think where it says "or" option 2 it really should say "and" option 2.

that makes more sense and balancing option to me. there should be no option 2. you basically trade the save and the ability of missing with the attack and keeping your charge for not having to be in melee range ready to revive a full attack after you attack.

edit looking at the full txt of the whole thing, I think the intent was positive touch the ability to spontaneously cast was meant to be limited number times of day. with the option of change the spell into ranged touch that does half damage. it also gives you improved critical with these spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Horror adventures questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions