Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Horror Adventures potential errata


Paizo Products

1 to 50 of 63 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

The purpose of this thread is to collect potential errors in Horror Adventures so that they can be addressed in FAQs and future 2nd printing errata.

1. Page 74. The Wizard archetype Hallowed Necromancer Positive Touch ability includes this line "A number of times per day equal to 3 + her Intelligence modifier, when she spontaneously casts a cure spell, she can either turn the effect into a ray and increase the range to close or remove the Will save but deal half the normal amount of damage."

Cure spells when used to damage undead already give half damage on a successful save, so the bolded text doesn't do anything. Recommend either deleting the line or changing the ability to do some sort of damage boost.

2. Page 5. Book References side bar misspells Ultimate Intrigue as "Ultimatie Intrigue."

3. Page 46.

Quote:
Cult Totem, Lesser (Ex): While the barbarian is raging, any morale bonuses or bonuses for flanking she gains on attacks rolls are added to her damage rolls instead of her attack rolls. They are still morale bonuses, and they don’t stack with other morale bonuses on damage rolls.

Lots (most?) of morale bonuses (e.g. Good Hope) provide both attack and damage bonuses. The bolded text would mean that you lose the attack bonus but don't actually gain any damage in those cases and you'd actually be penalized by this ability. Recommend either allowing them to stack or specifiying that you don't lose your attack bonus if it wouldn't actually give you a benefit to transfer it to damage.


Is there a listed range of the ray you turn it into in another section?

Otherwise it doesn't tell you if it's a Close, Medium, or Long range ray.


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Oops -- sorry about that.


These are some I've found after a quick skim of a few sections:

p44 Blood Alchemist- Alchemical Circles doesn't list when your blood pool refreshes

p83 Brutal Coup de Grace- No duration on the shaken effect

p85 Disconcerting Knowledge- "You can use your knowledge to demoralize an enemy" is redundent or missplaced flavor text

p86 Enemy Cult- Can be taken against a cult of any alignment, but the completion benefit only works agaisnt evil creatures.

p122 Massacre- Area says 60ft line, but text says 30ft line


Dread Knight wrote:

Is there a listed range of the ray you turn it into in another section?

Otherwise it doesn't tell you if it's a Close, Medium, or Long range ray.

"A number of times per day equal to 3 + her Intelligence modifier, when she spontaneously casts a cure spell, she can either turn the effect into a ray and increase the range to close or remove the Will save but deal half the normal amount of damage."


Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:

Is there a listed range of the ray you turn it into in another section?

Otherwise it doesn't tell you if it's a Close, Medium, or Long range ray.

"A number of times per day equal to 3 + her Intelligence modifier, when she spontaneously casts a cure spell, she can either turn the effect into a ray and increase the range to close or remove the Will save but deal half the normal amount of damage."

Oh sorry my eyes must have just been skipping to close, I only saw into a ray and increase the range when I was reading what you typed.


sunderedhero wrote:
p122 Massacre- Area says 60ft line, but text says 30ft line

Text actually says both, with a second mention of a 60ft. range for the denotation. I think the 30ft text is the error.


It's a pretty bad spell, so 60' seems the most reasonable from a balance perspective to make it less terribad compared to other options.


HALLOWED NECROMANCER, pg. 74

- Arcane school and spells are altered so that you cannot create/animate undead, but nowhere in the text does it say that you are either punished for casting those spells or have those spells removed.

- The line starting with "If the spell has an attack roll" has an extra "as" after the comma.


Page 45: Blood Knowledge doesn't say what the ability replaces.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, PFS RPG, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p. 128 STAVE OFF CORRUPTION

minor formatting error
missing semi colon between "Saving Throw" and "Spell Resistance"


1 person marked this as a favorite.

p. 144-145 BLOOD ALCHEMIST

1) Blood pool never refills. Ever.
2) Circles drawn by spending blood pool points are permanent fixtures that cannot be moved or transported. They also never go away.
3) Circle size is completely unspecified, meaning that with 1 minute of time an Alchemist can draw a circle equal to the circumference of the planet and can use it as the material component for a Fabricate spell.


Page 86, Enemy Cult feat. The prerequisite and benefit can apply against any alignment, but the completion benefit is specifically limited to evil. It should instead apply to your chosen opposed alignment.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, PFS RPG, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p. 236 HIVE LARVA SWARM

minor formatting-- semicolon between space and reach not comma

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, PFS RPG, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p. 238 Implacable Stalker

minor formatting-- semicolon between "Defensive Abilities" and DR not comma

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, PFS RPG, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p. 240 Kyton, Apostle

size not capitalized, should be "Medium"

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, PFS RPG, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p. 244 Unknown

size not capitalized, should be "Medium"


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

p 62-63 HAUNT COLLECTOR OCCULTIST

Extricate Haunt's base ability (creating a haunt) does not have a listed starting level. The later additions are noted to start at levels 12 and 16, but the base ability has no text to indicate when it becomes available.

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Alchemaic wrote:

p 62-63 HAUNT COLLECTOR OCCULTIST

Extricate Haunt's base ability (creating a haunt) does not have a listed starting level. The later additions are noted to start at levels 12 and 16, but the base ability has no text to indicate when it becomes available.

I'm going to re-post the main points from the main Horror Adventures thread (see more detailed post here) to demonstrate why this is a non-errata issue:

1. Extricate Haunt is not a direct 1:1 swap with a specific 2nd level ability and *also* trades out with higher class abilities (at 12th & 16th). The ability specifies that it is for use with haunted implements (accessed as soon as 2nd level), making listing the specific level of accessibility redundant (and possibly misleading; see below).

2. Since you don't HAVE to get a haunted implement at 2nd level, you might not be able to use Extricate Haunt at 2nd level. Haunted implements are a fluid option ("he can gain access to a haunted implement") you can take as early as 2nd level, but you don't *have* to. For this reason, the Extricate Haunt ability has to remain similarly fluid and level-unspecific. Because if you don't take the option to get a haunted implement until 6th level, you can't use Extricate Haunt until then, either.

3. The archetype already has an 8th-level replacement ability (Spirit Speaker), and if Extricate Haunt was *also* an 8th-level class ability replacement (as proposed in the other thread), it would be listed alphabetically, and come *before* Spirit Speaker. It does not.

But if you feel more clarification is in order, maybe mark that one for FAQ.


Page 145: The Death Curse table cites a "Doom of the Hunted" and a "Greater Doom of the Hunted" curse that are supposedly described in the curse section, but no such curse by those names exists. My guess is that these were changed into the actually existing curses Hunt of the Bogeyman and Hunt of the Ankou. Recommend making that substitution in the table.


p. 182, Table 5-2: The table for rolling Greater Madness lists "Psychopathy" rather than "Moral Insanity".


Page 165:

Quote:
The entire fleshwarping process requires 1 day per Hit Die of the final fleshwarped creature. During this time, the fleshwarper must succeed at a Craft (alchemy) check with a DC equal to the creation DC of the fleshwarped creature (typically, 15 + the final fleshwarped creature’s Hit Dice) each day. Creating a fleshwarped creature takes a number of days equal to 1 + the final fleshwarped creature’s CR.

The two bolded passages are arguably redundant and potentially in conflict, depending on the HD/CR of a particular creature. Recommend either deleting one passage or combining them and noting that it takes the greater of either number.


See this question about the Living Grimoire (and possibly other Inquisitor archetypes) that trade away Judgement but keep the 17th level Slayer ability that riffs off Judgement.


HALLOWED NECROMANCER, pg. 74

- Refer here as to an error on Positive Touch, officially noted by Mark Seifter.


Trompe l'Oeil, pgg 242-243
The commercial price should be 1000 gp per HD instead of 100, as the construction price, that is expected to be half, is 500 gp per HD

Contributor

Page 22: The Darkest Desires prerequisite is incorrect. It is listed as manifestation level 9th, which is the maximum manifestation level one is allowed to have.


Page 219: Channel-Thieving Belt, Greater.

Quote:
This belt functions as a normal channel-thieving belt, except the amount of healing is equal to 1/2 the amount of damage healed or dealt by the creature channeling energy.

The bolded text should be deleted; per normal Channel-Thieving Belt, this item always heals the user in the presence of a damaging energy channel. If the intent is that the Greater version also allow extra healing when subjected to channeled healing (contrary to "thieving"), rather than just the increase in healing, this should be more clearly spelled out.


I read that as an intentional change, the regular belt only functions for damage but the greater belt functions for both.


The boost from normal to Greater is 1 HP per dice to average of 3.5 (halved to 1.75) per dice, but it costs 4.6 times as much. So on second thought you're probably right.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
donato wrote:
Page 22: The Darkest Desires prerequisite is incorrect. It is listed as manifestation level 9th, which is the maximum manifestation level one is allowed to have.

And you gain a manifestion at that level, same as feats that have a level or BaB prerequisite.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

p. 123 Phantasmal Asphyxiation - This spell seems clearly inferior to Phantasmal Killer from the core rule book - Asphyxiation requires 2 failed Fort saves to make the target unconscious, and is limited to creatures that need to breathe, while Phantasmal Killer kills with a failed Fort save. Shouldn't the Phantasmal Asphyxiation spell therefore be 1 level lower rather than the same level of the better Phantasmal Killer spell?


Its point of comparison is Suffocate, not PK. The latter of which is probably on the top 5 list of spells they wish they hadn't brought over from 3.5.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

Plausible Pseudonym wrote:
Its point of comparison is Suffocate, not PK. The latter of which is probably on the top 5 list of spells they wish they hadn't brought over from 3.5.

It needs to compare to both though. There's no reason to use this spell instead of phantasmal killer unless you're looking to capture someone, but it's a very ineffective way to do that. Also, we don't really know what the designer and developer compared it to, we're just speculating.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

p. 12 Temporary Graft - Is it an oversight/editing mistake that there isn't an option to graft an extra arm on? Or is this simply not an option with the spell?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

P. 65, Paladin class, Tortured Crusader archetype, Torment ability: This ability is said to alter spellcasting, smite evil, and lay on hands, but it only mentiions alterations to spellcasting and lay on hands and says nothing about altering smite evil in any way.


David knott 242 wrote:

P. 65, Paladin class, Tortured Crusader archetype, Torment ability: This ability is said to alter spellcasting, smite evil, and lay on hands, but it only mentiions alterations to spellcasting and lay on hands and says nothing about altering smite evil in any way.

Agreed. While I understand why it's in the Torment class feature (Because it would normally change the Charisma bonus to attack and AC with smite to Wisdom), the "This alters smite evil" line should be moved to the "All Is Darkness" class feature.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

p. 181 Twisted Wish haunt - what exactly is this haunt supposed to do? I get that it collects wishes it overhears, then it grants them in a twisted way, but what does that mean exactly?

First, are you supposed to track what wishes it collects? How many would a typical haunt of this type have collected when PCs encounter it?

Next, what does it mean to twist them? Generally the rules for wishes suggest that wishes which are within the guidelines shouldn't be twisted, only those which try to stretch what the spell can do automatically. So if the haunt colllects a wish of "I wish I had an inherent bonus to strength", how would it twist that? Furthermore, since most of the time, wishes need to be specific, how does the haunt use them against the PCs. In the above example, it's the wisher who wants the strength bonus, not the PCs who wander by 2 years later. If a collected wish is "I wish that the mayor of Sandpoint dies of a horrible disease", does twisting it mean it instead targets the PCs?

I get the intention of the haunt, but not how it's supposed to actually be used in play. Would it be simpler to just say that the effects of this haunt are that it can target any creature with any spell once per day?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
JoelF847 wrote:

p. 181 Twisted Wish haunt - what exactly is this haunt supposed to do? I get that it collects wishes it overhears, then it grants them in a twisted way, but what does that mean exactly?

First, are you supposed to track what wishes it collects? How many would a typical haunt of this type have collected when PCs encounter it?

Whatever the GM needs it to have. It's that kind of encounter.

JoelF847 wrote:
Next, what does it mean to twist them? Generally the rules for wishes suggest that wishes which are within the guidelines shouldn't be twisted, only those which try to stretch what the spell can do automatically. So if the haunt colllects a wish of "I wish I had an inherent bonus to strength", how would it twist that? Furthermore, since most of the time, wishes need to be specific, how does the haunt use them against the PCs. In the above example, it's the wisher who wants the strength bonus, not the PCs who wander by 2 years later. If a collected wish is "I wish that the mayor of Sandpoint dies of a horrible disease", does twisting it mean it instead targets the PCs?

For some examples of twisted wishes...

1) Look at the art. Valeros, with his empty mug, is clearly wishing for booze. Now... look at the background. :D

2) For an example of "wishing for Strength"... even a "safe" wish can be twisted by an evil source, such as a glabrezu or efreeti (or the haunt). In Mummy's Mask, there's a foe who wished for great strength from a demon, only to be transformed into a crocodile-headed monstrosity with fists of stone.

JoelF847 wrote:
I get the intention of the haunt, but not how it's supposed to actually be used in play. Would it be simpler to just say that the effects of this haunt are that it can target any creature with any spell once per day?

Not exactly, but if that's what the GM needs, sure.

Spoiler:
(For an example of what you're describing, check out Pathfinder Adventure Path #48: Shadows of Gallowspire - the Tyrant's Whispers haunt is basically a wish-haunt that does it like that.)

The twisted wish haunt really is the "anything it can justify" haunt. It's more about flavor than rules. ^_^

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Not sure about the page since I don't have my book with me, but the Moon Cursed Barbarian has tiger as an option, but there's no medium tiger meaning the barbarian technically can't shift until 11th level. I'd assume it was supposed to function like the Druid's animal companion, but I can see that being an issue in PFS.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Hero Lab is struggling with the tiger issue as well. :/

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Kalindlara wrote:
Hero Lab is struggling with the tiger issue as well. :/

Talking with Lone Wolf is what made me realize that issue. They're going to add the tiger to the list of options, but apparently they're going with the barbarian can't shift until level 11 option.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
Dustin Heaton wrote:
Kalindlara wrote:
Hero Lab is struggling with the tiger issue as well. :/
Talking with Lone Wolf is what made me realize that issue. They're going to add the tiger to the list of options, but apparently they're going with the barbarian can't shift until level 11 option.

That seems... odd.


ping it as an error and then they ask the DEVs and get the official answer so much faster than trying to FAQ the issue. :D

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

If what Dustin says is true, Lone Wolf already made a decision about Hero Lab. It's more important to me that Hero Lab functions than that we have a PFS-worthy ruling.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber

Mark confirmed that it should be a medium tiger and that it's slated for the Horror Adventures FAQ page whenever that gets released.


The first Horror Adventures FAQs have been posted.


Nice, those are some handy FAQs.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

I'm wondering about the trompe l'oeil being an inherited template. It would seem to me that it is intended to be a reflection of someone as they are when they are portrayed, rather than something that simply takes their physical form and then acquires class abilities on its own afterward.
If this is correct, then the template should be able to be applied to a creature with existing class levels and therefore be an acquired, rather than an inherited, template.

Thoughts? I can certainly see the case where the trompe l'oeil kills its original and then masquerades as that individual, acquiring similar class levels, but this seems to be a bit of an edge case and increasingly difficult to accomplish for more powerful originals.

1 to 50 of 63 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Paizo Products / Horror Adventures potential errata All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.