Multiple archetypes


Rules Questions


I have picked two archetypes that are compatible with each other, meaning they don't break the replace/modify rule. My question though is, do they both take effect at level 1 or do I have to take one of them first at level 1 and then add on the other archetype at level 2? Thanks.

Grand Lodge

Both take effect at level one, adding whatever abilities they change at the level it says.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Technically, they each take effect at the first level where they cause a difference to how the class works. That said, the difference between that and making them effective at 1st level is largely semantic.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Also it's replace, modify, alter, add, enhance, adjust, transmute, merge, or change in any way ever so slightly. Replace/modify for short.

Silver Crusade

Well, RAW you have to decide at the moment you take a new class, but of course the GM can decide to be more flexible:

Quote:
When a character selects a class, he must choose to use the standard class features found or those listed in one of the archetypes presented here.


I really dont like stacking archetypes at all!


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
darrenan wrote:

Well, RAW you have to decide at the moment you take a new class, but of course the GM can decide to be more flexible:

Quote:
When a character selects a class, he must choose to use the standard class features found or those listed in one of the archetypes presented here.

The retraining rules cover archetypes that do not make a difference at your current level. What are the cost and time required to retrain into such an archetype? According to Ultimate Campaign, zero -- so you just "retrain" into the archetype immediately before gaining the first level at which that archetype matters.

Of course, that quote is technically inaccurate in regard to archetypes that are compatible but both affect a character's abilities at 1st level -- We have numerous statements from various folks at Paizo that allow a character to have more than one archetype, even though that quote above would seem to prohibit doing that.


David knott 242 wrote:
darrenan wrote:

Well, RAW you have to decide at the moment you take a new class, but of course the GM can decide to be more flexible:

Quote:
When a character selects a class, he must choose to use the standard class features found or those listed in one of the archetypes presented here.

The retraining rules cover archetypes that do not make a difference at your current level. What are the cost and time required to retrain into such an archetype? According to Ultimate Campaign, zero -- so you just "retrain" into the archetype immediately before gaining the first level at which that archetype matters.

Of course, that quote is technically inaccurate in regard to archetypes that are compatible but both affect a character's abilities at 1st level -- We have numerous statements from various folks at Paizo that allow a character to have more than one archetype, even though that quote above would seem to prohibit doing that.

That you can have more than one archetype has never been in question.

APG wrote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature.


Harleequin wrote:
I really dont like stacking archetypes at all!

I agree cause lot of chaos and confusion. I don't think it should have ever been any option. So I house ruled it out of my games and consider Archetype to be specialized version of a class So you can only have one per class. A person in my games but can still get more then one archetype but it from an archetype from another class.

but since this is in the rule section of the board. To answer the OP the archetype must be selected at the level you get the 1st ability swap for that archetype. but you can select it sooner if you want as it actual has no bearing on the abilities until a swap happens.

example your character class x has two ability at level one that are getting changed 1 by one archetype and the other by the 2nd archetype. you select both archetypes at level 1

if you character class x has 1 ability swap at level 1 for one archetype and the 1st ability swap for the 2nd archetype does not happen til level 6. you don't have to add the 2nd archetype until level 6 when that swap happens, but writing it down on your sheet before level 6 has no bearing or effect on the character so. it does not matter.

only adding archetypes after the fact does it matter, then you should be using retraining rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple archetypes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.