Eyebiter & Mutant Eye


Rules Questions


So i'm thinking about making an eyebiter mesmerist for sheer flavor, and i just stumbled across the "mutant eye" trait, which gives me a third eye.

1) Can I send this extra eye as my familiar?

2) Would it still give me the bonus to sense motive?

3) If I decide to keep it in my bag & thus out of sight, do I not suffer the penalty to bluff and diplomacy?

4) If I'm an elf with the lightbringer racial trait, am i immune to the dazzle effect while using my third eye as a familiar?

5) Can the eye familiar take a familiar archetype?


1. I guess, but doesn't it only open for 1 minute a day?
2. Only when feeding you visual information itself.
3. You still suffer the penalty because you still have a hole in your head where the eye was.
4. You are only immune to light based dazzle effects, not dazzle in general.


Blake's Tiger wrote:

1. I guess, but doesn't it only open for 1 minute a day?

2. Only when feeding you visual information itself.
3. You still suffer the penalty because you still have a hole in your head where the eye was.
4. You are only immune to light based dazzle effects, not dazzle in general.
Mutant Eye wrote:
You have a third eye on your forehead. As long as it is uncovered and open, you can get a clearer sense of the emotions of those you see, granting you a +2 trait bonus on Sense Motive checks that increases to +4 on checks to notice whether a character is under a mind-affecting effect. However, the eye is unsettling, and you take a –1 penalty on Bluff and Diplomacy checks against humanoids who can see it.

1) No limit per day

2) Good point
3) It says "the eye is unsettling, and you take a –1 penalty on Bluff and Diplomacy checks against humanoids who can see it" so if they cant see it then surely i dont take the penalty??
4) Good point
5) ???


3. Yes, but you still have an equally disconcerting gaping mutant eye hole. However, you could cover that hole like you could the eye.


I think most Familiar Archetypes are non-compatible due to lack of Speak with Others of Its Kind and lack of Speak with Master.

I think that I would probably rule no to 5. It's your eye that you imbued with your magic, not a divine emissary sent to you or a figment of your imagination or a sage spirit in an animal body. However, I don't think the rules draw a straight line to either yes or no.

Grand Lodge

Neither Eyeball Familiar or Tumora familiar takes away Speak with Master or Speak with Animals of its kind. Although both explicitly prohibit Improved Familiar.

I've been playing it as:
1. Yes. But you're still Dazzled. Who cares.
2. No. You're not using it to se through. But it gives you Alertness, which is the same bonus.
3. You can keep your forehead eye socket closed and not get the penalty, and there's no reason not to while your eye is flying around.
4. You should have been a Gnome!
5. Yes. Man-sized Eyeballs are clearly Rules as Intended.


Ooglers are my homebrew. Each has a separate eye beam power. They hover under their own power.

Lawful neutral eyeball, like constructs exist in the game. They are low level inevitables. Right here.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/outsiders/inevitable/inev itable-arbiter

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eyebiter & Mutant Eye All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions