Can a good Oracle use spells with the [evil] descriptor?


Rules Questions


My search of the forums indicate that clerics cannot do this. But can Oracles? Is the prohibition based on the type of spells or solely on the class features?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It part of the Cleric's "Spells" class feature, "Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells" sub-heading. Not relevant to Oracles.


As casual viking says if you check out the cleric you find this:

CRB wrote:
Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.

The oracle has no equivalent restriction.

Grand Lodge

It's certainly not based on the type of spell. A good-aligned wizard can cast protection from good or summon monster to get an evil outsider.


dragonhunterq wrote:
As casual viking says if you check out the cleric you find this:
CRB wrote:
Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.
The oracle has no equivalent restriction.

Oracle didn't exist when that was written. I think the mention of deity is the important part, as a cleric that has no deity does not face the restriction either. To that end, since Oracle isn't required to follow a deity (outside of PFS), they wouldn't be affected. If an Oracle did follow a deity, I think a DM could reasonably apply the same restriction.


Scythia wrote:
dragonhunterq wrote:
As casual viking says if you check out the cleric you find this:
CRB wrote:
Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells: A cleric can't cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity's (if she has one). Spells associated with particular alignments are indicated by the chaotic, evil, good, and lawful descriptors in their spell descriptions.
The oracle has no equivalent restriction.
Oracle didn't exist when that was written. I think the mention of deity is the important part, as a cleric that has no deity does not face the restriction either. To that end, since Oracle isn't required to follow a deity (outside of PFS), they wouldn't be affected. If an Oracle did follow a deity, I think a DM could reasonably apply the same restriction.

Clerics of a Philosophy do face such a restriction.

Oracles have no such restriction regardless.


Also later divine classes still have that restriction such as Warpriest. Oracle if it does not have that restriction is under no hinderance in their spellcasting.


Oracles aren't particularly connected to a deity.

They also have no note of restrictions on what spells they might cast like a cleric or warpriest might.

As a GM, I might say that an oracle can't cast spells opposed to her own alignment (the deity she worships has nothing to do with it), but this would be very much a house rule, albeit one that I find fighting for Divine Spell casters in general.


Since casting aligned spells is meant to have an effect upon a caster's alignment, then repeated use of opposed spells by a character should lead to a conversation between the player and the GM about exactly which alignment the PC should have.

There are several threads about this, with some useful advice (and some rubbish too) in.

Liberty's Edge

Even cooler : an Evil Oracle can channel positive energy to heal and a Good Oracle can channel negative energy to harm or get some undead puppets ;-)

Scarab Sages

Is there an Oracle that can get Channel Negative Energy to harm? I didn't think there was. I know Bones Oracle can get Command Undead, but that's all the ability can be used for. If there is a negative channeling Oracle, that would be good information to have.

Jason


Gilarius wrote:

Since casting aligned spells is meant to have an effect upon a caster's alignment, then repeated use of opposed spells by a character should lead to a conversation between the player and the GM about exactly which alignment the PC should have.

There are several threads about this, with some useful advice (and some rubbish too) in.

Some of that purported advice has no rules support, save for one obscure setting specific splat book.

Casting aligned spells does not affect your alignment. The alignment tags simply tell you how the spells interact with other rules elements (such as clerics).

Probably wise to talk to your GM though in case he houserules in some alignment changing effect.


dragonhunterq wrote:
Probably wise to talk to your GM though in case he houserules in some alignment changing effect.

I am the GM in this case and I'm trying to decide if I want to limit the summons of the NG oracle in the party. The oracle in question is a devotee of Pharasma.

Some good points here and I will have to think about it. But it's a good point that an Oracle suffers no penalties from changing alignments.


Ferious Thune wrote:
Is there an Oracle that can get Channel Negative Energy to harm?

There ought to be, and there might be in 3pp material, but I have never seen a Paizo one.

The Versatile Channeler feat specifically mentions Clerics but not Oracles, so that doesn't work unless you get a GM that houserules it.


short answer: Yes

Long Answer: Yes: alignment restrictions for spells only effect classes that say they do like druid and cleric


1 person marked this as a favorite.

These rules exist to mechanically represent where these spells are coming from and to reflect the purview of the patrons that are granting them.

If you're a cleric of Iomedae, for example, she's the one granting your spells. If you ask Iomedae to summon a demon for you from your summon monster spell, she's *not* going to do it.

As for the Oracle, the "source" of their magic can be a bit trickier. However, since the deity in question is Pharasma, she has no opposed alignments being Neutral herself.

Want to summon a demon? *Shrug* Your funeral. See you in a minute.

Edit: Note that the *party* might have something to say if the Oracle starts summoning things that make them uncomfortable...


Gulthor wrote:
Want to summon a demon? *Shrug* Your funeral. See you in a minute.

that got a chuckle out of me


This thread discusses the same question and This post is the best answer I can give, which boils down to "Why would a good oracle want to use evil spells?" or even "Why did this player write GOOD on his character sheet when he seems to want to play an evil oracle?"

Read the post and perhaps the whole thread, some of the discussion there is good.

Scarab Sages

Peet wrote:
Ferious Thune wrote:
Is there an Oracle that can get Channel Negative Energy to harm?

There ought to be, and there might be in 3pp material, but I have never seen a Paizo one.

The Versatile Channeler feat specifically mentions Clerics but not Oracles, so that doesn't work unless you get a GM that houserules it.

I asked because The Raven Black seemed to indicate there was. I was wondering if I'd missed a new Archetype.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a good Oracle use spells with the [evil] descriptor? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions