| Cevah |
I recently came across some items that seem like they can aid your casting while you are in another shape:
Ring of Eloquence
The ring also makes it easier for the wearer to find the correct words to express herself, granting a +2 competence bonus on Bluff, Diplomacy, Intimidate, and Perform (oratory) checks. Also, if the wearer is deafened and attempts to cast a spell with a verbal component, the chance of spell failure is reduced to 10%.
Wizard Hook
Although a wizard hook does not allow for fine manipulation, it is infused with magic that bolsters somatic components—you can use a hand stump outfitted with a wizard hook to fulfill any somatic components for casting arcane spells. A wizard hook also grants proficiency in its use as a weapon. You can make touch attacks with spells using a wizard hook, either by making a normal attack with the hook (in which case it deals normal hook hand damage plus the spell effect), or by making a touch attack with the hook (in which case you gain a +4 bonus on the attack roll and the save DC of the spell increases by +1, but you do not do hook hand damage).
Within is an extradimensional space that can hold 4 cubic feet or 40 pounds worth of items and otherwise functions as a small bag of holding. If the bearer uses a polymorph effect or wild shape to transform into an animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin, the pouch never merges with her body. It automatically relocates to an easily-accessible place on her body (such as on a belt or a cord around her neck), allowing her to access the pouch and items within it while she is transformed.
So, at first glance, it seems you can cover V, S, and M/F/DF with these items above.
Q: How RAW/RAI legal is this, and are there ways to make it better?
/cevah
| Cevah |
What is the rules issue? It is a continuously active item, and not armor/shield, so polymorphing does not turn off it's magic. It's magic lets you cover "S" with a simple hook. While the hand becomes a claw or whatever, that magic is still going.
Can you come up with another way to ensure "S" can be covered?
/cevah
| Orfamay Quest |
You did read the description? There is nothing to "activate".
Certainly there is. "You can use a hand stump outfitted with a wizard hook...."
If you're polymorphed into a snake, you don't have a hand stump, and even if you are polymorphed into a bear, you don't have the wizard hook to outfit your hand (paw?) stump.
It looks like a classic use-activated item to me, which means it doesn't work in polymorphed form. Compare, if you like, to the wording of the (mundane) astrolabe: "When using an astrolabe, you can make a Survival check using your Intelligence modifier instead of your Wisdom modifier to avoid becoming lost." Your reading of the wizard hook would suggest that you get the benefit of an astrolabe while wildshaped as well.
Taenia
|
Natural Spell only works for Druids in Wild Shape.
Psychic spells work well for Polymorphing casters.
Some forms don't require you to do anything else. Undead Anatomy, Monstrous Physique, Giant Form and Form of the Dragon all would allow you to cast as normal since these give you a Humanoid or Monstrous Humanoid form or a form like Dragon that can cast spells. In the case of all but Dragons, you gear stays with you so you can still use your Spell Component Pouch.