| JaysonOl |
On my 2nd turn, I was at location Shark Island. According to the location card, at the start if each turn, summon and defeat a Hammerhead Shark (Check 9).
1) Valeros was on ship (commanding). His Strength D10+3, being on a ship additional +1D4, and brandishing the Boarding Pike (Reveal= +1D8), saw me roll a 15, thus defeated. Per scenario card, when a Hammerhead Shark is defeated, move it to another open location (random), so I did.
2) Now during my free explore portion of my turn, I revealed the actual Hammerhead Shark (who was at top of location deck), and using the same formula above, I rolled a 17 (defeated)...Since scenario card still says move a defeated Hammerhead Shark to a open location, I thus moved this second defeated one to another random location. Hammerhead Shark text reads -> You can now attempt to close location....(yes, after 1st reveal!).
3) Shark Island Location Card says "When Closing...Summon and Defeat Henchmen Hammerhead Shark". So is this in fact a third Shark to fight in a row? I did and as luck would have it (according to my Valeros formula above) he now rolls a 16...defeated. Since scenario card still states to move a defeated Hammerhead to an open location, I indeed do that...3 sharks, 1 turn, 3 separate relocations.
Now I close the location and thus avoid/banish all other 9 cards at location (which had 5 monsters by the way)?
Dumb first time luck? Or did I miss something.
| skizzerz |
If you’re told to summon and encounter a card, this immediately starts a new encounter. If you’re already in an encounter, complete the encounter with the summoned card before continuing the original encounter. After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise.
Please note that the quote is from the most recent version of the rulebook. Your printed rulebook says something different but was issued errata in this FAQ.
1. So, when you summon and encounter the Hammerhead Shark at the start of your turn due to being on Shark Island, it does not get moved to another location deck afterwards because Shark Island doesn't tell you to do that -- it is simply returned back to the box.
2. This shark was not summoned, so it is indeed moved by the scenario power. Since it was not summoned, you also do get a chance to close by fighting another shark.
3. Same as #1, the shark does not move to another location -- it is simply returned to the box. Since you won, you do indeed banish the remaining 9 cards in the location deck and flip the location card to its closed side. If the location had any "When Permanently Closed" abilities, they would take effect at this time.
| Longshot11 |
The summoned sharks should not be sent to open locations when they are defeated, because summoned monsters get banished after the encounter.
If we should get all technical, a summoned card is NOT banished, but rather 'returned to the box', as skizzers' Rulebook quote points out. It will be an important distinction once you hit AD3 ...
| JaysonOl |
Rulebook (emphasis mine) wrote:If you’re told to summon and encounter a card, this immediately starts a new encounter. If you’re already in an encounter, complete the encounter with the summoned card before continuing the original encounter. After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise.Please note that the quote is from the most recent version of the rulebook. Your printed rulebook says something different but was issued errata in this FAQ.
1. So, when you summon and encounter the Hammerhead Shark at the start of your turn due to being on Shark Island, it does not get moved to another location deck afterwards because Shark Island doesn't tell you to do that -- it is simply returned back to the box.
2. This shark was not summoned, so it is indeed moved by the scenario power. Since it was not summoned, you also do get a chance to close by fighting another shark.
3. Same as #1, the shark does not move to another location -- it is simply returned to the box. Since you won, you do indeed banish the remaining 9 cards in the location deck and flip the location card to its closed side. If the location had any "When Permanently Closed" abilities, they would take effect at this time.
I'm confused with your points 1 & 2. I didn't evade or attempt to evade.. The scenario card "Island Hopping" says 'During this scenario: If you defeat a Hammerhead Henchmen (I did..it was summoned at beginning of turn at Shark Island), put it on the bottom of a random other open location.' I wasn't moving the card per Shark Island text, I was moving it via Island Hoping scenario text.
Shark Island text says at beginning of every turn, encounter a Hammerhead Shark (pulling it from the box, not the location deck). I would think that the Island Hoping scenario text presides over location text.
So at beginning of turn, I summon a Hammerhead prior to exploration and deal with it. Then I free explore (turn over first card in deck) and 'encounter' (not summoned) 2nd shark, and deal with it. Scenario tells me when I defeat shark (doesn't say encounter or summon, just defeat), move to another open location. I then attempt to close location based off the 'encounter' text (2nd shark), and then 'When closing' tells me to 'summon' third shark and deal with it...I did.
Maybe I'm not understanding you correctly. Sorry, I'm just trying to clarify and understand..just trying to follow what you said.
| skizzerz |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
You resolved the encounter with it - evading is not required. The Shark Island card is what summons the Sharks. Therefore, only the Shark Island card can tell you to put it anywhere other than back in the box. The scenario card or any other card cannot overrule it because the rule uses the magic word "never" -- meaning that rule always wins out in a conflict (see the golden rule for that reference). So, summoned sharks are never moved to other locations. Sharks in location decks are still moved though (like the shark you encountered in your first explore).
| zayzayem |
Nothing trumps *never*.
Summoned cards *never* go anywhere except back into the box (unless the card that summoned them says otherwise.
The Summoned sharks should have gone back into the box.
You correctly fought three sharks. However, only one shark should've moved (the non-summoned one from the location deck).