|
JaysonOl's page
19 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|


After failing my first playthrough, I'm re-attempting S&S Dangerous Waters against Jemma Redclaw.
I've been holding off my potential last play/turn to request a clarification on legal card play...
Both Lirianne and Jirelle are at this location and it is Jirelle's turn.
3 of the 4 locations are closed, and I have already acted and defeated Shackles Pirate Ship and recharged a card based on Jemma's card.
Jirelle's hand currently is: 1x Cutlass, 2x BotG.
Lirianne's hand is: 2x Pistol, 1x Caltrops, 1x BotG.
Jemma is Combat check 11.
A) Jirelle w/ Strength 1D6 reveals Cutlass for +1D6, and discards 1 BotG for an additional 1D6, bringing her current assembled die to 3D6. Can Lirianne also discard 1 BotG for an additional D6 for a total of 4D6?
B) Since the Cutlass (being used) has the Swashbuckling trait, I assume I could also use Jirelle's Power to reroll 1 of my die?
C) Also, just for the sake of argument, if Jirelle cannot stop Jemma and is possibly eventually encountered by Lirianne in a subsequent turn, Lirianne has Ranged Dex: 1D8+3. If she discards a BotG, does this make it 2D8+3 or 2D8+6 (doubling the +3). I assume BotG only adds another die, not the modifier?

skizzerz wrote: Couple things:
1. You do not get to keep seized ships beyond the scenario you seize them in. When starting a new scenario, you must choose either a ship you have checked off on your fleet card, or a promo ship (set indicator "P") with a class corresponding to a class you have checked off on your fleet card. Seizing a ship does not let you check it off on your fleet card, so you cannot keep them past the scenario.
2. Jirelle's power only reduces structural damage, attempting to repair a ship is not structural damage so Jirelle doesn't help you there. A ship doesn't "remember" how much damage it has taken; it is either wrecked or not wrecked.
3. There are a few cards that let you repair your ship. Successfully defeating the Hull Damage barrier is probably the only one you have access to at this time. If you know you can't repair it, strongly consider discarding to prevent the damage instead.
4. Remember that if your ship is wrecked, you lose one plunder card at the end of every player's turn, and you cannot gain additional plunder cards. Furthermore, if a wrecked ship takes structural damage, you need to discard that many cards off the top of the blessings deck.
5. Jirelle's power cancels out Raker Shoals's power, so you don't need to do anything special there (Raker Shoals makes you take 1 structural damage at the start of your turn if occupied, and Jirelle prevents 1 point of that damage regardless of her location, so you take 0).
6. The check to repair is still a check, and everything that can be played on checks can be played on it, such as blessings to add extra dice. If you can't avoid wrecking your ship, you'll probably need to spend some extra resources to repair it should you lack the requisite skills....
Thanks for clearing some of that up;
1) I'm still not 100% clear on seizing/acquiring ships then....Shackles Pirate ship is class 0, same as Merchant man. So if I seized it in an earlier scenario, I don't get to use it even if it's the same class? When would one be able to use other ships then? Are we always playing with the Merchant ship until a scenario allows you to use a ship from another class?
2) That's what I figured...I was crossing my fingers to no avail.
3 & 4) Got it.
5) Oh, that's good to know. I didn't even piece that together!
6) So I can spend a Blessing to add a 1D4 then. Good. I was afraid that since it was the 'beginning' (i.e. "prior" to me accessing my hand), I may be restricted from using cards in hand until I explore or advance the Blessing deck.

Playing scenario 3 of the core S&S set (and not faring so well). Lirianne and Jirelle are at same location, Fog Bank.
On her turn, Lirianne dispatches an enemy Captain (monster), the Captain did 2 structural damage to my ship, Shackles (seized from previous scenario). Since Jirelle is at location, I assume only one dmg is actually taken, but I opt not to discard any additional cards so ship is wrecked and we lose 1 random plunder.
Neither Lirianne or Jirelle have the 'craft' trait, and to repair ship you may attempt a check of 5 Craft at beginning of turn.
It is now Jirelle's turn. A 1D4 is never going to 'repair' the ship for either. Can Jirelle use her Power again this turn to "Reduce Structural Damage by 1" to now fix the ship? I'm assuming not, but I'm seeking an official ruling.
So if neither have the Craft trait, and a 1D4 will never result in a check of 5, what other ways are there to repair? I haven't even visited Raker Shoals yet. Would discarding a Blessing at the beginning of the turn (I'm not even sure you can do that) allow for a 2D4 (add 1 die to check)?
Thanks Hawkmoon.
From what I can ascertain, I think I'll hold off for now. If many of these cards are B, 2-6 as you suggested....they may be sitting around a bit until I can even achieve those levels.
Yes, nice price at $9.99...but looks like I can't really use 80% of it until I get further into the adventure decks/packs and level up some anyway.
So I'm not sure I understand Class Deck add-ons.
One of the gaming sites is offering the Monk Class deck today at basically 1/2 price ($9.99), and I'm debating as to whether this would be a decent pick-up for me or not.
I am currently new to playing Skull & Shackles (having NOT played Rise of the Runelords), and the core set doesn't have any Monks. Since this is thematically a Pirate (although obviously other classes are present) theme, I was wondering if there is any benefit for me to pick this up.
Sure, I get that there are 3 new characters, but what of the other 100+ cards? Do the monsters, boons, spells, etc...work seamlessly into S&S core set? No, I haven't even made it into Deck 1: Wormwood Mutiny...but at this price, I'm wondering if I should go ahead and pick it up.
Can anyone tell me (newbie) as to the benefits/disadvantage of picking up a class deck? Is it too early in my adventures? Are monk's a decent fit for Skull & Shackles?

1) "If undefeated, examine top 3 cards of your deck and discard any allies. Shuffle any remaining cards into your deck."
So even after I do this, (i.e. I did not defeat the Caller) does it stay on top of location deck for next player to encounter until defeated?
2) This puts me into a quandary in which I can't see a way to advance. I'm playing Rum Punch and this is the last open location (other three are closed, 2 player game).
I am playing both Lem and Valeros whose base Wisdom cannot defeat the Callers Wisdom check of 8.
Both have full hands of 4 & 5 respectfully, and nothing in their hands can boost this check (i.e. no blessings, no reveals to add Wisdom). I know the villain is here somewhere, but with my Blessings Deck down to 4 or 5 turns left..I feel I'm stuck.
Should Lem or Valeros discard cards from their hands and hope & pray that they *may* have a Blessing come up to add a die? Or if Siren does her damage and makes you discard, is this encounter finished and she goes back to the box?

In rum punch, when you acquire an ally, the scenario instructs you to form an ally pile with any acquired allies found in locations.
When you encounter the villain, you may place allies from said pile into your hand to add 1 (per ally) to add check to defeat villain.
At end of scenario, the reward is the allies in the pile.
In my examples, I am using Lem whose hand size is 5.
Q1) Lem, whose hand is already at 5 when villain is revealed, places 2 allies into hand for +2 check (Diplomacy/Charisma I believe), raising his hand to 7. I assume this is temporary for this turn?
Q2) Whether villain is defeated or not, if you didn't lose (recharge/discard) any of your original 5 cards, what happens to the allies placed in your hand? Do they go back to the ally pile after this turn for your next hero to draw from when he/she encounters the villain (if moved to another location)?
Q3) If Lem had discarded/recharged a card from his original 5 (ex: missle), does he then keep 1 of these allies to ensure his hand is now 5 and return the other back to the pile? If he were to do this, then I can imagine that these allies may be lost during regular scenario gameplay, and if you did indeed win the scenario, there is a possibility that all the allies you acquired for your ally pile may already be exhausted. Is it possible to have acquired allies throughout the locations, only to not have any left (ally pile is empty)as a reward for beating Rum Punch?
Kumarei wrote: For this check, he was using one of Jirelle's powers. It states that "For your check that has or is against a card that has the Finesse trait, you gain the skill Melee: Dexterity + 2". The Cutlass has the Finesse trait, so he was able to use his Dexterity die for a melee check using that weapon, making his base die a d10. Thank you so much. I thought it had something to do with the Cutlass card, but I wasn't grasping the Power part. The Water Elemental and Snake did not have Finesse so I knew that wasn't it. Then I was looking at her inherent traits and didn't see Finesse either.
I guess the key was "For your check that HAS or is against..." I wasn't making the connection that the Cutlass having Finesse trait added +2 to Dex.
I appreciate the explanation....I've been short changing myself my last game. :(

In an effort to teach myself the finer points, rules, flow of the game, I took to watching a YouTube series on S&S by Stephan Cleaves online.
I was watching him play through 004: Sunken Treasure and I'm stymied on how he came up with a base roll for a character and was hoping someone here may point out what I'm missing.
He has Jirelle at the Beach location and encounters a Water Elemental (Combat 12).
Jirelle has Strength of D6, and Dex D10.
For his combat check, he revealed a Cutlass for 1D6, recharge an Eyepatch for 1D4, a Blessing of the Gods to add a die, but he said that was a D10. So he rolled 2D10 + 1D6 + 1D4...He rolled a 20, defeated.
I don't understand where the base D10 came from, if Jirelle's base strength is D6. Can you use Dex as opposed to Strength on a monster whose only check is 'Combat'?
He did the same later on against a Constrictor Snake (Combat 11)....used a base D10 and throughout the rest of the scenario.
Apologies ahead of time if this is an obvious question/answer, but I thought you only use Strength/Melee in these type of combats unless the Monster/encounter shows a different check.

Hawkmoon269 wrote: Blessings would add her Strength die. See this FAQ. I read the FAQ but I still don't get it. I would assume that his roll would now be 1D6+2 + 1D10 for wisdom skill, combined.
If the text reads "you may recharge a card to add your Wisdom Skill (it doesn't say add trait or just add Wisdom, but specifically says add skill) and the Bludgeoning trait."
I interpret that as he recharges a card to ADD his Wisdom 1D10 to his current Strength/Melee instead of a second 1d6 to his Strength/Melee. He temporarily inherits the Bludgeoning trait, but doesn't do anything as far as the dice are concerned.
I see the key phrase as 'Add Wisdom Skill' (as an additional skill), not 'Add Wisdom' (where it would be just a trait). If the card just read "You may recharge a card to add Wisdom and Bludgeoning trait...", or "Recharge this card to add a die", then that's something else, he's just adding both as traits, but this makes a distinction between the two by adding the term skill.
Help me understand this.
[edit] okay, I think I got it now. I was reading the OP slightly wrong. After re-reading and seeing the next two posts, I got it.
Apologies to the question, but still learning how to play.
I encountered the Class 6 Dominator ship and the checks are as follows- WIS/SUR:8 -OR- DEX/RNG: 11.
I'm wondering if this is legal...
1) Valeros is at location, commanding the ship. He has DEX 1D6. In hand, I have 'Cutlass', but it does not list RNG or DEX, but the text does say I can discard for 1D8. Can I discard this for the check even if it doesn't list a trait of RNG/DEX?
2) Lirianne is at same location, but not her turn. In her hand she has a Basic Pistol. Can she 'reveal' Pistol to add 1D6 (dex) to the combat roll above in addition to Valeros's, or can she only add a dice if she had a Blessing (she doesn't btw)?
I'm thinking that if I discard Cutlass and reveal Pistol, Valeros check to defeat would be: 1D6 + 1D8 + 1D6, but I'm questioning my play.
Okay Skizzerz, I think I got it now. Thanks to you and everyone else.

skizzerz wrote: Rulebook (emphasis mine) wrote: If you’re told to summon and encounter a card, this immediately starts a new encounter. If you’re already in an encounter, complete the encounter with the summoned card before continuing the original encounter. After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise. Please note that the quote is from the most recent version of the rulebook. Your printed rulebook says something different but was issued errata in this FAQ.
1. So, when you summon and encounter the Hammerhead Shark at the start of your turn due to being on Shark Island, it does not get moved to another location deck afterwards because Shark Island doesn't tell you to do that -- it is simply returned back to the box.
2. This shark was not summoned, so it is indeed moved by the scenario power. Since it was not summoned, you also do get a chance to close by fighting another shark.
3. Same as #1, the shark does not move to another location -- it is simply returned to the box. Since you won, you do indeed banish the remaining 9 cards in the location deck and flip the location card to its closed side. If the location had any "When Permanently Closed" abilities, they would take effect at this time. I'm confused with your points 1 & 2. I didn't evade or attempt to evade.. The scenario card "Island Hopping" says 'During this scenario: If you defeat a Hammerhead Henchmen (I did..it was summoned at beginning of turn at Shark Island), put it on the bottom of a random other open location.' I wasn't moving the card per Shark Island text, I was moving it via Island Hoping scenario text.
Shark Island text says at beginning of every turn, encounter a Hammerhead Shark (pulling it from the box, not the location deck). I would think that the Island Hoping scenario text presides over location text.
So at beginning of turn, I summon a Hammerhead prior to exploration and deal with it. Then I free explore (turn over first card in deck) and 'encounter' (not summoned) 2nd shark, and deal with it. Scenario tells me when I defeat shark (doesn't say encounter or summon, just defeat), move to another open location. I then attempt to close location based off the 'encounter' text (2nd shark), and then 'When closing' tells me to 'summon' third shark and deal with it...I did.
Maybe I'm not understanding you correctly. Sorry, I'm just trying to clarify and understand..just trying to follow what you said.
It was the first, out of the box. I believe it is "Pillage & Plunder" with the Adaro Barbarian.

On my 2nd turn, I was at location Shark Island. According to the location card, at the start if each turn, summon and defeat a Hammerhead Shark (Check 9).
1) Valeros was on ship (commanding). His Strength D10+3, being on a ship additional +1D4, and brandishing the Boarding Pike (Reveal= +1D8), saw me roll a 15, thus defeated. Per scenario card, when a Hammerhead Shark is defeated, move it to another open location (random), so I did.
2) Now during my free explore portion of my turn, I revealed the actual Hammerhead Shark (who was at top of location deck), and using the same formula above, I rolled a 17 (defeated)...Since scenario card still says move a defeated Hammerhead Shark to a open location, I thus moved this second defeated one to another random location. Hammerhead Shark text reads -> You can now attempt to close location....(yes, after 1st reveal!).
3) Shark Island Location Card says "When Closing...Summon and Defeat Henchmen Hammerhead Shark". So is this in fact a third Shark to fight in a row? I did and as luck would have it (according to my Valeros formula above) he now rolls a 16...defeated. Since scenario card still states to move a defeated Hammerhead to an open location, I indeed do that...3 sharks, 1 turn, 3 separate relocations.
Now I close the location and thus avoid/banish all other 9 cards at location (which had 5 monsters by the way)?
Dumb first time luck? Or did I miss something.
In my first run through ever on this game, I got confused with how to deal with a two contradictory card texts during Pillage & Plunder.
I encountered the Henchmen 'Enemy Ship' whose texts read: "Summon & encounter a random ship....If the summoned ship is defeated, you may seize it."
I summoned the Class 6 'Dominator' whose text reads "This ship cannot be seized."...so does it go back into the box if defeated?
Part 2: Anyway, I did not defeat it, so Henchmen 'Enemy Ship' gets reshuffled into current location deck. When I encounter that card again, is it a new random ship, or is it the Dominator again? (I placed it back in the box when I did not defeat it the first time).
Being new to the game, and trying to understand the rules (I get that Basic cards start to disappear after AP 3), but early on what is the main difference between Elite and Basic cards other than maybe a +1 stat here or there?
I actually can't find anything in the rulebook that specifically mentions 'Elite' cards, that is, when to seed in a player deck, or what exactly this trait(?) does.
Are there encounters that make a check against 'Elite'? If I'm playing the opening scenario, or graduate to AP 1 (Wormwood Mutiny), what am I looking for in wondering if I am using Elite correctly in my deck. I have this feeling I'm making more out of the word Elite than maybe I should be as opposed to Basic.
Is there a link available for a downloadable version of the S&S FAQ and errata?
I'd like to print it out, but don't see an easy way from the FAQ page without good formatting, links, margins, etc.
I did try search under 'errata' and 'FAQ sheet' but didn't see anything.
Thanks in advance.
|