Grapple and multi attacks?


Rules Questions


I'm trying to make a melee focused Skinwalker with natural weapons.So bite and claw x 2. I was reading hair can count as natural as well.So i figured dip white hair witch. I noticed that hair can grapple as a side effect for free. So with that in mind.
Could I do a multi hit Bite claw claw hair into a grapple if it lands and then redo it again next to minus the hair to maintain the grapple?

Yes I'm new to pathfinder out of the PFS so this idea never came up to me before and i would like others more experienced thoughts and ideas on the subject.Please and thank you.

~Max The man at arms


This is a nifty little flow chart for grappling from d20pfsrd. In the second part of the chart you'll see that you may take any actions that don't require 2 hands to do including a full attack, but this is assuming you're grappling with arms and not your hair. I'm not sure if this is for PFS or not but I'm sure it would be allowed.


What I mean is do a full attack. bite double claw then hair into a grapple. Could I then do a full attack again bite double claw minus the hair after while maintaining the grapple with the hair.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

to maintain a grapple is a standard action, so you cant maintain the grapple and full attack.


That is true, and leads to the silly tactics of creatures constantly dropping and re-grappling foes.

IIRC, the White haired witch doesn't gain the grappled condition with their hair, so you should be able to grab them with the hair, and then finish your full attack with other weapons. Wouldn't work if you're maintaining the grapple, though.


Paulicus, it does not matter if you gain the grappled condition during a full attack or not. You can still complete your full attack.

There is nothing in the rules that prevent this other than maintaining a grapple and maintaining is not done until the next round.

Example:
Dire Tiger charges and gets a Bite+Grab, 2 Claws+Grab, and Rake (2 Claws). If the bite and grab hits then the Dire Tiger still gets to make the 2 Claws and Rake attacks.


Don't forget with greater grapple you can maintain a grapple with a move action...


So does that mean if I gained Greater grapple I could use my move action to maintain the grapple and perform basic attacks as long as I dont do a full attack action?


I just thought of something if i let go of grapple at the start of my turn then did a full attack with Hair being last if it hit i could let it grapple again keeping it in a type of permanent grappled state.


Yes, that is a standard strategy MaxManAtArms. The main drawback is that you wont get the +5 maintain bonus.


Small loss for a massive combo for natural weapon build. lol thank you all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple and multi attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions