Magus Archetype Question


Rules Questions


I am thinking of making a Magus.

I would like to pick Eldrich Scion and Card Caster. The PFRD does not say they conflict on the chart. However the Eldrich Scion Alters the Arcane Pool completely replacing it with the Eldrich Pool and the Card Caster alters Arcane Pool changing some of its abilities.

So is it a legal combo? The Eldrich Pool is a complete replacement which says, "this ability replaces arcane pool, and abilities that modify arcane pool also modify eldritch pool." Thus the adjustments that Card Caster would make are to the Eldritch Pool and not the Arcane Pool.

Or do they conflict and I can't do it.

Grand Lodge

No it's not legal.

Both archetypes fiddle with the same class feature, so they can't be used together. One alters arcane pool, the other eliminates it. Both count as interacting with a class feature.


That is what I would normally say too.

I was confused why 1- it was not marked on the chart on the PFsrd as changing the same ability. 2- The wording of the Eldritch Pool ability "abilities that modify arcane pool also modify eldritch pool.


I assume you mean the table on d20pfsrd.com? That site is a nice resource, but they really need to update the archetype tables, and even when they do put in recently introduced archetypes, the tables are sometimes missing archetype clashes. You have to read the archetype descriptions to be sure.


Thanks for the quick response I was hoping I would be wrong cause I want both archetypes but I will drop one.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you're playing in PFS, you're out of luck. However, if you have a GM, I'd say to just ask them. I'm pretty sure most GM's will allow something like that to work, especially as both options are LESS powerful than the base class.


Always remember that while d20pfsrd.com can be a great resource, it isn't an official one and often includes errors. It's like Wikipedia, incredibly useful to find information, but you can't cite it as a source for your research paper.


You could try to run it in a home game since there is more wiggle room there but the by the book answer and backed up by a FAQ if i remember right is that archetypes cant stack if they ever affect the same class ability. Even if the changes are minute or otherwise compatable such as both archetypes adding a skill to your skill list.

Shadow Lodge

Yeah, the official rules are conservative on archetype stacking to prevent weird interactions. (I think this is the most relevant FAQ, though this FAQ on bloodlines also illustrates the principle.)

I'd allow them to stack at my home games. It's easy to figure out how it works and not OP.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

LazarX wrote:
No it's not legal.

+1 They can not be combined.

Keep in mind the d20pfsrd is not correct on most of these entries. It is written from the perspective that things are blocked only if they say "This modifies/replaces that". If you use that logic, you violate the rules and the FAQ.

Silver Crusade Contributor

James Risner wrote:
LazarX wrote:
No it's not legal.

+1 They can not be combined.

Keep in mind the d20pfsrd is not correct on most of these entries. It is written from the perspective that things are blocked only if they say "This modifies/replaces that". If you use that logic, you violate the rules and the FAQ.

This is correct, if unfortunate. One of my least favorite FAQs.

I advise talking to your GM about it. It's easily houseruled, and allowing someone to use Eldritch Scion isn't going to break anyone's game. ^_^


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Weirdo wrote:

Yeah, the official rules are conservative on archetype stacking to prevent weird interactions. (I think this is the most relevant FAQ, though this FAQ on bloodlines also illustrates the principle.)

{. . .}

Thanks, now the first FAQ just reminded me that we still need (and don't have) a Mime Bard archetype . . .

James Risner wrote:

{. . .}

Keep in mind the d20pfsrd is not correct on most of these entries. It is written from the perspective that things are blocked only if they say "This modifies/replaces that". If you use that logic, you violate the rules and the FAQ.

As far as I have been able to determine, d20pfsrd.com actually is not too shabby as long as you depend upon the archetype descriptions instead of the tables (I do really wish they'd fix these, though), and that FAQ/Errata and new material take quite a while to propagate in.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Archetype Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.