| oyzar |
So I read the FAQ on Armor spikes. But some things are still unclear to me.
1) I can't find the rules for it anywhere, but what sort of armor can you put armor spikes on? Can you put it on light armor? Silken Cermonial Armor?
2) Do you still benefit from the corageous enchantment on your armor spikes if you attack with a two handed weapon?
3) If you attacked the previous turn, do you threaten both at reach and close if you wield a two handed reach weapon and armor spikes?
4) If you didn't attack do you still threaten both?
| DM_Blake |
1. Technically yes to all armor, even silken ceremonial. However, expect some GMs to the line somewhere by only allowing them on hard/rigid armors.
2. Armor spikes have nothing to do with 2H weapons.
3. Yes.
4. Yes (assuming you're in combat and not flat-footed).
Note: the FAQ references using the spikes as an "off-hand" weapon which is only one option and specifically means you're trying to make an EXTRA attack by using Two-Weapon Fighting rules - WHEN YOU DO THIS you cannot use the armor spikes as an off-hand weapon AND use a 2H weapon at the same time (which actually means you can't do this). But you don't have to use the spikes as an "off-hand" weapon as part of Two-Weapon Fighting; you can simply use them to make a primary attack. For example, a level 6 fighter holding a longspear and wearing armored spikes can use his first attack (BAB 6) to use the spear at reach and his second attack (BAB 1) to use the spikes against an adjacent enemy. Likewise with AoOs; you threaten whatever you threaten (spikes threaten adjacent and if you have a reach weapon you threaten there too) and since, during your AoO, you're not trying to use Two-Weapon-Fighting, you can make either kind of AoO regardless of what you did on your turn.
| SlimGauge |
1) Sounds silly, doesn't it ?
2) Most weapon enhancements, such as Defending, are USE ACTIVATED. You must USE the armor spikes to gain the benefits.
3&4) It doesn't matter what you did the previous turn. So long as you COULD make an attack with either, you threaten with either.
| oyzar |
@DM_Blake: That's what I was hoping for....
@SlimGauge: Is Courageous use activated? I see nothing to indicate that is the case, but I've been wrong before. It seems really odd for that ability to only work when you attack though, especially the bonus against fear.
@Chess Pwn: The bonus to all saves, strength, constitution, skill checks and attacks is nice to have(rage and heroism).
| Chess Pwn |
@DM_Blake: That's what I was hoping for....
@SlimGauge: Is Courageous use activated? I see nothing to indicate that is the case, but I've been wrong before. It seems really odd for that ability to only work when you attack though, especially the bonus against fear.
@Chess Pwn: The bonus to all saves, strength, constitution, skill checks and attacks is nice to have(rage and heroism).
so your GM is ignoring the FAQ on that where they rewrote it to only be fear? If so then I can see why it's worth it. My comments are assuming rules followed.
| DM_Blake |
oyzar wrote:@Chess Pwn: The bonus to all saves, strength, constitution, skill checks and attacks is nice to have(rage and heroism).so your GM is ignoring the FAQ on that where they rewrote it to only be fear? If so then I can see why it's worth it. My comments are assuming rules followed.
Specifically, this FAQ.
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
1) All, but as others said some GM might modify the list.
2) You wouldn't gain the bonus if you didn't use the weapon, and you can't TWF with a THW and an off-hand weapon. Also, you read too much in what the property does. It was well known via developer comments for years that it only helped saves.
3) Yes
4) Yes if in combat