About Bloodrager's Bloodline Claw...


Advice

Scarab Sages

Claws (Su)

At 1st level, you grow claws while bloodraging. These claws are treated as natural weapons, allowing you to make two claw attacks as a full attack, using your full base attack bonus. These attacks deal 1d6 points of damage each (1d4 if you are Small) plus your Strength modifier. At 4th level, these claws are considered magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage resistance. At 8th level, the damage increases to 1d8 points (1d6 if you are Small). At 12th level, these claws become flaming weapons, which deal an additional 1d6 points of fire damage on a hit.

based on the aforementioned description and assumed that I have Strength mod of +3, Is my total claw damage:

(1d6+3)x 1.5STR

or

(1d6)x 1.5STR?

Thanks in advance!


why are you thinkin gyou get 1.5 str?

you have 2 claw attacks. Each if they hit do 1d6+3 damage.


As Chess Pwn said, it's 1d6+3. You may have read that you deal 1.5 x (STR mod) for two-handed attacks, but that means you are wielding one weapon with two hands not making individual attacks with both hands.

As a side note, if you were making two-handed attacks you would use 1d6+(3x1.5) which would round down to 1d6+4. The STR modifier gets multiplied by 1.5 but not the damage die result.


Chess Pwn and Gisher are exactly correct, in the event you needed another voice or witness.


Not always the case.

CRB wrote:


Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls.

If you use both claws this does not allow you to fulfill the 1.5x Strength bonus requirement (only one Natural Attack).


Hubaris wrote:

Not always the case.

CRB wrote:


Primary attacks are made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and add the creature’s full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls.
If you use both claws this does not allow you to fulfill the 1.5x Strength bonus requirement (only one Natural Attack).

It doesn't matter if you "use" both claws. It matters if you "have" more than one natural attack.

Since the Bloodrager gets 2 claws (both of which are natural attacks), the rule you quote will never apply to him.


Derp.
You are correct, should probably read the last bit here.

CRB wrote:


This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one.


you could go with feral combat training and dragon style but that gets intensive for minor damage boosts.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / About Bloodrager's Bloodline Claw... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.