Imrijka's power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


"You may recharge (□ or reveal) a card that has the Divine or Ranged trait to add 1d4 and the Divine and Magic traits to your check against a monster."

Can you use that power if you already used Ranged weapon on the check? And if you can, can you use the same weapon to trigger this power or it should be another one?

I know that the rules state that you can only use one card of each type per step, but those are two different steps [determine skill used and adding dies to check] so there should be no reason why you couldn't use same weapon for both. Or am I reading the rules wrong?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yes you can, and it can be the same one.
Specifically, the rules say you can only play one card of each type per check, but using her power doesn't count as playing a card. (Playing a card means to actually use that card's text).


The caution I would add is that the card has to still be in your hand. So if you revealed a ranged weapon to make it a Ranged check and didn't discard it, recharge it, etc., then yeah, go ahead and use that card for her power.


But if power picked the 'reveal' then can't reveal the same weapon twice for both combat check and 1d4/divine/magic right?


Yes, you can.

Sovereign Court

Zenarius, you are only limited to one card per type when you actually play them. Using that weapon for a character is not playing the card, so it does not count as playing it twice.


I see. The combat check effect of the card has already taken place. Card gets put back in hand. Then the char effect allows a further reveal. Nice... Thanks!


Sweet! I assumed you needed to have another card to reveal, since revealing counted as playing. That makes her much more awesome, just throwing around d4s. :D


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Doing something with a card to use a power printed on it counts as playing a card (e.g. revealing, recharging, discarding, etc.). Doing anything with a card as part of a power printed elsewhere does not.


What if it's a bow that I want to discard as part of its ability. I suppose then I couldn't reveal the bow first to add the divine/magic since the determine which skill using has to resolve first and the bow gets discarded before we play cards and use powers that affect the check?

Sovereign Court

That is correct. By the time you get around to using that power, that card is gone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Imrijka's power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion