warpriest minor magic blessing and vital strike interaction.


Rules Questions


Does the attack the minor magic blessing provide quality for the use of the vital strike feat?

If this works does it work on the swift action version that the swift blessing feat provides?

Magic Blessing
Hand of the Acolyte (minor): At 1st level ((you can cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp)) and strike an opponent, then instantly return to you. You can make a single attack using a melee weapon at a range of 30 feet. This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, except that you add your Wisdom modifier to the attack roll instead of your Dexterity modifier (you still add your Strength modifier to the damage roll as normal). This ability cannot be used to perform a combat maneuver.

The text says that it takes a weapon from your grasp does this mean that it could be a weapon you can hold but not necessarily wield?
Say that storm giants greatsword you got as loot. I mean i could grasp it but not wield it.
So would that weapon quality for the hand of the Acolyte blessing?

Hmm... if so i could vital strike with a colossal greatsword a few times a day. Yes please lol

My search fu is a little weak so any help would be appreciated.

The grasp thing is kinda throwing me as it is not a game term i am familiar with had they said wielding i would say no to the greatsword throwing thing but...

Silver Crusade

Hand of the Acolyte (as Hand of the Apprentice) is a standard action, not an attack action, so you can't use Vital Strike.


Gray Warden wrote:
Hand of the Acolyte (as Hand of the Apprentice) is a standard action, not an attack action, so you can't use Vital Strike.

The important point is that an "attack action" is different than an "attack". It really would have been clearer if the "attack action" was instead called a "standard attack".

As for using an oversized weapon, the intent seems pretty clear that you be capable of wielding the weapon, but the text doesn't explicitly say so. I'd certainly expect table variation on something like that. Any DM would be justified in saying no.


I think it's allowed but I am on edge.

Pros:
->Vital strike says: When you use the "attack action" [blah blah blah...]

->Hand of the acolyte: [blah blah blah...] This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon [blah blah blah...]

Cons:
-> Vital strike says: When you use the attack action

->Hand of the acolyte: You can cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp and strike a foe before instantly returning. As a standard action, [blah blah blah...]

Dilemma:
I would say that the "This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon" make it the equivalent of an attack action even if it's standard action used due to how it's worded. However in the past, Vital strike was ruled not being able to be used with the charge full round action (this case is clear-cut case with charge) & not being usable with Cleave (a bit more nebulous). What make hand of the acolyte very peculiar is that it identify it's ability as "a ranged attack with a thrown weapon."

This raise many questions however, because I never tough that you could efficiently use "Vital Strike" with a ranged attack. The X-laser from the technology guide comes to mind, multiplying that sweet 5d6 damage could be rather incredible on high level characters, [20d6 + modifiers] damage 200 feet vs touch AC away is nothing to spit at, even at level 16. Really the limitation is "Attack action" and "weapon damage dice",

Any other ideas on other useful way to use this very often overly limited feat?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Laiho Vanallo wrote:
I think it's allowed but I am on edge.

It is never allowed and there should be no ambiguity.

Vital strike may only be used with and attack that can be used with the attack action.

Attack action compares to full attack action. It consists of attacks you can perform with held weapons and weapons you can perform attacks of opportunities.

In short, Vital Strike says "take a standard action and do any attack you could also do during a full attack"

Scarab Sages

It was recently pointed out in another thread that the Melee Tactics Toolbox has a passage on vital strike and other actions:

Melee Tactics Toolbox wrote:
Attack Action: An attack action is a type of standard action. Some combat options can modify only this specific sort of action. When taking an attack action, you can apply all appropriate options that modify an attack action. Thus, you can apply both Greater Weapon of the Chosen and Vital Strike to the same attack], as both modify your attack action. You can apply these to any combat option that takes the place of a melee attack made using an attack action (such as the trip combat maneuver), though options that increase damage don't cause attacks to deal damage if they wouldn't otherwise do so (such as Vital Strike and trip). You can't combine options that modify attack actions with standard actions that aren't attack actions, such as Cleave.

In this case, you cannot use the ranged attack granted by the magic blessing in place of an attack, it is it's own action. You therefore cannot combine it with vital strike.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / warpriest minor magic blessing and vital strike interaction. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.