
Tom Sampson |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
The Mongrel Mage archetype currently has a broken (non-functional) power. A FAQ and errata would be appreciated. The problem is the line in question:
At 7th level, when a mongrel mage is activating her selected bloodline, the mongrel mage can instead spend 3 points from her mongrel reservoir, allowing her to use the bloodline's 1st-, 3rd-, and 7th-level powers as well as its bloodline arcana at her full sorcerer level for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma bonus.
Sorcerers don't have 7th level powers. They have 9th level powers. This means that the power does nothing, since you get the same powers as the 3rd level mongrel power, except you pay an additional reservoir point. It can reasonably be inferred that the designer meant 9th level instead of 7th, but the text itself needs correction. I'm curious how PFS handles this.

![]() |

It is well known that the ACG needs errata, and that Paizo is working hard to fix it.
Did you bring up your concerns in THIS thread? I searched for the word "mongrel" and found nothing.
As for how PFS would handle it, here is some advice from Mr. Compton himself.

Azothath |
Mongrel Mage (Sorcerer archetype)
as you can see the wording for the 7th level power has remained the same (through multiple updates).

Tom Sampson |
Some things simply never get fixed, for whatever reason. APG staves never received any errata either, even though they are priced at half of what they should cost. In fact, the Staff of Toxins is miscalculated even at half price (the author appears to have assumed that a second spell on a staff costs 60% the usual price instead of 75%). And I believe there are a number of bestiary entries that need correction because their ability scores, BAB, and feats do not add up to the numbers listed as the attack bonuses, etc.
I wish they'd fix these things.