Mouser and Step Up


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So a Mouser Swashbuckler typically fights from inside their opponent's square. If an opponent attempted to 5 foot step away, would the Mouser be able to use Step Up and follow, staying in their square?

Further, if yes and the Mouser also had Step Up and Strike, could the mouser use both the Underfoot Assault deed and Step Up and Strike, attacking them twice for the impertinence of trying to escape?

Shadow Lodge

They could step up, because their mouser abilities allow them to.

I'm not sure what the wording is for underfoot assault, so can't comment. Would help if you could quote that.

Dark Archive

Quote:

Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe whose space she is within if she is adjacent to an ally who is also adjacent to the foe. The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser. This deed replaces opportune parry and riposte.


I think not.

Step Up specifically requires you to end up adjacent - it's very clear on that point. This would also make your second question irrelevant, but even if it were possible to use Step Up and Strike (it isn't), then it would still not be possible to use Underfoot Assault because that only works when an opponent attacks you and misses - it has nothing to do with choosing to use Underfoot Assault any time you want to.

Dark Archive

Step Up and Strike

My concern is that they both trigger like AOOs, so I don't know if the one AOO per movement rule wins, or if these are a more specific ability that just use up your AOO pool.

Dark Archive

The general thought I have seen is the first paragraph of Underfoot Assault requires a miss, but the second is always active if you meet the condition of being in the same square - the panache is spent for the movement.

The adjacent bit is one part I am not sure about. Since a tiny creature must enter the opponent's space to attack, wouldn't that mean they aren't adjacent until inside that space?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Actually, that brought up an interesting question. Can you cleave off a rider into their mount (assume small rider medium mount to avoid issues with large mounts and multiple squares), or off one tiny creature onto another in the same square? Because doing so requires defining same square as part of adjacent.

Edit:

Aha, I think I found the official PRD definition of Adjacent!

Quote:
Melee Attacks: With a normal melee weapon, you can strike any opponent within 5 feet. (Opponents within 5 feet are considered adjacent to you.)

So within 5. Within 0 is most certainly within 5. By that definition, Step Up should work - 5 foot step, start touching and hence adjacent, move 5 feet to follow and end up touching and hence adjacent.


Step Up and the later feat, Step Up and Strike, work together. Because Step Up and Strike says so: "When using the Step Up feat to follow an adjacent foe, you may also make a single melee attack against that foe". Pretty clear. If I modify that a little to include actual wording from Step up, it reads like this:

Combined text from Step Up and Step Up and Strike feats wrote:
Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability and you may also make a single melee attack against that foe.

As you can see, it has nothing to do with a foe attacking you or missing you. It only applies to an adjacent foe using his 5'-step to get away from you and when that happens, you may follow to an adjacent space and take one melee attack against him (as an AoO).

Underfoot Assault has no synergy with that. Being inside the foe's space is NOT being adjacent to him. If there were some text in the description of Underfoot Assault that said something like "When you are inside your foe's space you are considered to be adjacent to that foe" then you would have a case for using this with Step Up. But there is no such text, nor is there a general rule for it (quite the opposite actually). Furthermore, Underfoot Assault triggers when the foe attacks you but Step Up triggers when the foe takes a 5'-Step. Totally different.

So back to the OP, if you are already inside your foe's space when he 5'-Steps, you were not adjacent to him so you CANNOT use Step Up.


Within the same square is adjacent


This is getting back to whether "adjacent" also includes the same square. In the rules, it's only spelled out what adjacent means in regards to melee attacks. For other situations, it's left completely open to interpretation.

I suggest finding that other lengthy thread on the definition of "adjacent". No universal solution was reached - there are significant rules problems either way. Thus, expect table variation.

If the GM does allow adjacent to include "same square", then you can step up back into their square... as long as you are able to reenter their square without the use of Underfoot Assault. If you are, for instance, small size and attempting to step up into a medium sized creature's square, it won't work. Underfoot Assault only allows you to enter their square if they miss you with a melee attack.

Finally, while the act of moving only can trigger once per move action, it's entirely possible for that move action to trigger OTHER attacks of opportunity based on other triggering conditions. While the specific wording of Underfoot Assault appears to not be a qualifying independent trigger, be careful to not automatically assume only one AoO can happen during movement. For example, you can provoke once for moving through a threatened area and then again for entering a creature's square.

Dark Archive

DM_Blake, I know how Step Up and Strike works. The question at hand seems to be the convoluted and disagreed upon definition of Adjacent and whether or not it counts your own square. If it does, Step Up and friends work for a mouser (assuming all other rules are followed, such as at least two size categories smaller); if it does not, the feat does not work.

Note that this is in the context of a Tiny character (specifically, a Kitsune Fox Form Mouser 1/Natural Weapons Ranger 2/??? who has taken the Ranger feat to get claws).

Assuming we define Adjacent as including the current space (which I fully understand makes this vulnerable to table variation):
* Enemy starts turn in same square as Mouser
* Enemy tries to 5 foot step away
* Per text of Underfoot Assault, when an enemy moves out of the square the Mouser is in, it triggers an AOO. Given that more specific trumps less specific, and it specifies that it takes effect any time the opponent moves out of the Mouser's space, this would seem to trigger even on 5 foot steps.
* The Mouser then uses Step Up and Strike to follow the enemy and attack again.

Now this would only apply in the specific situation of the Mouser starting in their square, and the enemy making a 5 foot step - if they moved normally, it would only trigger Underfoot Assault. Plus, the enemy has only used a 5 foot step at this point, so they're still free to full attack that annoying rabid fox that keeps biting them if they want :)


It looks like it would work to me as long as you had combat reflexes...


Akari Sayuri, I have a very similar character to that and also considered Step Up.
I decided not to take it to avoid table variation issues.
In the end, I've found I don't really need it anyway.

Grand Lodge

Aspect of the Beast won't work with Fox Shape. You grow claws in your Kitsune form. Then they go away when you change into a Fox, since you lose your natural weapons when you change, unless otherwise specified.

Assuming that

Melee Attacks: With a normal melee weapon, you can strike any opponent within 5 feet. (Opponents within 5 feet are considered adjacent to you.)

then Adjacent is defined as your own square(s) and in squares with in 5' of you. Logically speaking it should all work from that point on.


Actually, Aspect of the Beast does work with Fox Shape. The claws you grow aren't part of your Kitsune form, but an additional feature added by a feat. Further, "Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form." I think it's reasonable to assume that a fox shape is well suited to using claw attacks.

Again, that definition is only relevant to melee attacks. For other purposes, it's undefined.


Byakko wrote:

Actually, Aspect of the Beast does work with Fox Shape. The claws you grow aren't part of your Kitsune form, but an additional feature added by a feat. Further, "Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form." I think it's reasonable to assume that a fox shape is well suited to using claw attacks.

Again, that definition is only relevant to melee attacks. For other purposes, it's undefined.

It has been debated before, but RAW polymorph school says they are lost. Foxes don't have claws in their stat block, you do not gain something that they don't have without specific exceptions stating you do. The claws from the feat aren't a supernatural or other effect that can be activated in the new form either (like a totem or bloodline ability, etc). Whatever your "base" form is, gains claws when you gain the feat, so polymorphing makes you lose those.


"While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form."

"While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed."

"Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form."

While you do have a valid argument, I don't believe these claws are dependent on your original form. As foxes actually do possess claws (even if they're not listed in the stat block), I feel the benefits of this feat would be retained in fox shape. As noted, however, the GM is the final arbiter on which abilities are lost and which are retained.

Dark Archive

Other option is to go Unchained Barbarian and get claws when raging. That was actually the original idea, the Ranger version was attractive to have something that is effective even when not raging.

So I wonder - ignoring the potential Fox Form problem and assuming Base Form, if you had both the Ranger and the Barbarian claws, would you have two pairs of claws, one on your hands and one on your feet?


It's been clarified somewhere that claws generally only apply to the forelimbs of a creature. You'd only get one set of claws. (I believe you need "talons" to get claws on your feet.)


Akari Sayuri "Tiger Lily" wrote:

Assuming we define Adjacent as including the current space (which I fully understand makes this vulnerable to table variation):

* Enemy starts turn in same square as Mouser
* Enemy tries to 5 foot step away
* Per text of Underfoot Assault, when an enemy moves out of the square the Mouser is in, it triggers an AOO. Given that more specific trumps less specific, and it specifies that it takes effect any time the opponent moves out of the Mouser's space, this would seem to trigger even on 5 foot steps.
* The Mouser then uses Step Up and Strike to follow the enemy and attack again.

This is how I interpret it too.

The table variation would only come from the definition of adjacent.

And as for that... remember... two tiny creatures with daggers that are close enough to threaten each other (i.e. in the same square) would definitely also be adjacent.

The wizard's familiar riding on her shoulder is adjacent to the wizard.

Similarly, a tiny mouser would be adjacent to a large troll while in the same square.

Grand Lodge

Underfoot assault only let's you spend your immediate action when you're missed to step into an opponent's square. This is the exception.

Taking a 5' step (via Step Up or just a regular one) does not allow you to enter your opponent's square. You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

I agree that the same square is adjacent, but that is irrelevant to the question being asked.


claudekennilol wrote:

You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

Or...

PRD: "Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so."

Sovereign Court

Rory wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:

You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

Or...

PRD: "Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so."

There's a problem with that section though. It says they can move in to there, but technically it doesn't say they can stay there. Because a little bit up it says:

PRD wrote:
Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.

I'm sure it wasn't entirely intended that way, because it makes it really hard for them to attack anyone, since they end movement before making attacks.

More oddness: if a tiny fox is allowed to enter my square, am I (medium) allowed to enter the fox's square?

PRD wrote:

Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.

A big creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories smaller than it is. Creatures moving through squares occupied by other creatures provoke attacks of opportunity from those creatures.

It seems not. I'm not big enough to enter the fox's square, but he's small enough to enter mine.

Also, just because the fox might be allowed to end his movement in my square, am I allowed to remain there on my turn? I'm not allowed to move into the fox's square or end my movement there, so... what...?

---

These rules need a bit of cleaning up. It's fairly clear how they're intended to work, but they don't actually say it that way.

Grand Lodge

To the OP, Expect table variation:

Option 1: Perfect Synergy - Opponent leaves square, mouser gets Underfoot Assault AOO, Mouser steps up into opponents square with Step Up/Following Step/Step Up & Strike.

Option 2: No synergy - Opponent leaves square, Mouser gets AOO from Underfoot Assault. May Step Up, but not into the square occupied by the opponent.

Option 3: Limited Synergy - Opponent leaves square, Mouser may use Step Up to remain in the same square as the opponent but forfeits the AOO from Underfoot Assault (the immediate action from SU means they never left each others square). He will gain the AOO from Step Up & Strike if he had taken the feat.

Option 2 is the RAW interpretation and as such have not included this feat line on my Mouser, however I will allow Option 3 at my tables on the basis of allowing the Underfoot Assault to continue because its invested in with multiple feats. After all, this is the center piece of the entire AT and its thwarted by a 5' step (free action) available to anyone.

Note: the creature may still leave the square with the withdraw action (taking the Mouser's AOO), move 10-15 feet away and learn not to attack the little guy in the future. At least now it requires an action investment to override a centerpiece class ability.

This is worthy of an FAQ, otherwise its a broken AT.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
DM_Blake wrote:

I think not.

Step Up specifically requires you to end up adjacent - it's very clear on that point.

a lot of rules suggest that adjacent also counts for in their square, else your familiar riding your shoulder doesn't grant you awareness.

Grand Lodge

claudekennilol wrote:

Underfoot assault only let's you spend your immediate action when you're missed to step into an opponent's square. This is the exception.

Taking a 5' step (via Step Up or just a regular one) does not allow you to enter your opponent's square. You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

I agree that the same square is adjacent, but that is irrelevant to the question being asked.

To clarify, the UA ability allows the Mouser to occupy a 5' square of his own within the opponents square. It is paid for with Panache. The Mouser can leave or move freely within the opponents squares if the opponent occupies more than one. Please note at the time of the provocation of leaving the Mousers square the Mouser still has UA active and may move freely within spaces occupied by the opponent.

The feat line Step Up is an immediate action, taking place at the same time as (before) the provocation (movement outside the Mouser's square). It is perfectly reasonable the Mouser may follow into an adjacent square and continue Underfoot Assault with the Step Up feat line if he doesn't take the UA AOO from the opponent leaving his square (because he never did).


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Ascalaphus wrote:
Rory wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:

You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

Or...

PRD: "Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so."

There's a problem with that section though. It says they can move in to there, but technically it doesn't say they can stay there. Because a little bit up it says:

PRD wrote:
Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.

I'm sure it wasn't entirely intended that way, because it makes it really hard for them to attack anyone, since they end movement before making attacks.

More oddness: if a tiny fox is allowed to enter my square, am I (medium) allowed to enter the fox's square?

PRD wrote:

Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.

A big creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories smaller than it is. Creatures moving through squares occupied by other creatures provoke attacks of opportunity from those creatures.

It seems not. I'm not big enough to enter the fox's square, but he's small enough to enter mine.

Also, just because the fox might be allowed to end his movement in my square, am I allowed to remain there on my turn? I'm not allowed to move into the fox's square or end my movement there, so... what...?

---

These rules need a bit of cleaning up. It's fairly clear how they're intended to work, but they don't actually say it that way.

thankfully RAI rules that section of the rules. and not a single person I have seen has ruled it how your saying.

Grand Lodge

Rory wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:

You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

Or...

PRD: "Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so."

You obviously didn't read the first post. He makes no mention of being that small. That's not a loophole and if he is that small then it's fine.

Dark Archive

Grey_Mage wrote:
The feat line Step Up is an immediate action, taking place at the same time as (before) the provocation (movement outside the Mouser's square). It is perfectly reasonable the Mouser may follow into an adjacent square and continue Underfoot Assault with the Step Up feat line if he doesn't take the UA AOO from the opponent leaving his square (because he never did).

That sounds like a very reasonable interpretation (and likely what I would apply as a GM in a home game). By using Step Up, you stay in their square, so you get Step Up and Strike as a consequence of having used Step Up, but do not get the AOO from Underfoot Assault. The idea being that you have a rabid fox gnawing on your leg, and you didn't move enough to shake them off so they kept gnawing. If they take a full movement, you can't Step Up and they shake you off, but you get the AOO as a parting gift.

btw, that is in fact the character concept - a Kitsune that has contracted rabies and it's messed with their head, and has managed to stabilize themselves a bit Human form, but goes a bit nuts and attacks things whenever they're in a more foxy form (Base Form at level 1, then Fox Form when I gain it from the feat at level 3). They should be small enough that one of the other party members can scruff the fox and throw it at the enemy's face, at which point the rabid fox latches on and starts mauling :)

Dark Archive

claudekennilol wrote:
You obviously didn't read the first post. He makes no mention of being that small. That's not a loophole and if he is that small then it's fine.

My apologies for not being clear in the original post, later in the thread I mentioned that this was going to be for Kitsune Fox Form, which is tiny.

Grand Lodge

claudekennilol wrote:

Underfoot assault only let's you spend your immediate action when you're missed to step into an opponent's square. This is the exception.

Taking a 5' step (via Step Up or just a regular one) does not allow you to enter your opponent's square. You must be using a specific ability (a la Underfoot Assault or Monkey Shine or similar) to actually move into an opponent's square.

I agree that the same square is adjacent, but that is irrelevant to the question being asked.

I agree with Claudekennilol on this point. To INITIATE Underfoot Assault, you must be attacked. Although your tiny size allows (forces) you to enter the opponents square to melee, you don't get the benefit of it unless you spend the panache point after being missed in melee.

Dark Archive

So it would still be fine to move in to the square and start attacking per the normal Tiny movement and combat rules (provoking an AOO as usual moving into their square), you just don't get the benefits like the -4 attack against allies, flanking, and the AOO on moving out until you formally start Underfoot Assault on a missed attack against you?


Akari Sayuri "Tiger Lily" wrote:
So it would still be fine to move in to the square and start attacking per the normal Tiny movement and combat rules (provoking an AOO as usual moving into their square), you just don't get the benefits like the -4 attack against allies, flanking, and the AOO on moving out until you formally start Underfoot Assault on a missed attack against you?

It costs a panache point to get into the foe's square as an immediate action without taking an AOO. That's all. There is no panache cost if you are already there.

The following part of Underfoot Assault would be in effect regardless of whether it was the mouser that entered the foe's space, or the foe that entered the mouser's space.

"While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe whose space she is within if she is adjacent to an ally who is also adjacent to the foe. The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser."

Is the mouser in the foe's space? Yes? Then all the listed effects apply.

Grand Lodge

Rory wrote:
Akari Sayuri "Tiger Lily" wrote:
So it would still be fine to move in to the square and start attacking per the normal Tiny movement and combat rules (provoking an AOO as usual moving into their square), you just don't get the benefits like the -4 attack against allies, flanking, and the AOO on moving out until you formally start Underfoot Assault on a missed attack against you?

It costs a panache point to get into the foe's square as an immediate action without taking an AOO. That's all. There is no panache cost if you are already there.

The following part of Underfoot Assault would be in effect regardless of whether it was the mouser that entered the foe's space, or the foe that entered the mouser's space.

"While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe whose space she is within if she is adjacent to an ally who is also adjacent to the foe. The mouser can move within her foe's space and leave the foe's space unhindered and without provoking attacks of opportunity, but if the foe attempts to move to a position where the mouser is no longer in its space, the movement provokes an attack of opportunity from the mouser."

Is the mouser in the foe's space? Yes? Then all the listed effects apply.

This. It also costs your immediate action in addition to the penache. Step up isn't that useful because it only activates if your opponent takes a 5' step (i.e. if they use their full move action to move away the step up feat chain does nothing)--step up also uses your immediate action.

Grand Lodge

Underfoot assault takes an immediate action to begin and 5' step. The opponent usually won't leave the square until after he has tried squishing the little guy. By that time the Mouser will have acted and regained the opportunity to use an immediate action, but in the 1st round you are correct.

In regards to the tiny mouser's simply moving into a square... I wouldn't want that to be used against me. Since it is untyped 4 tiny pixie swashbuckler could all UA swarm the same target and give the target a cumulative neg 12 vs any of them.

Grammatically, the interpretation may be correct... New paragraph, New subject but I believe this to be an oversight and they are directly related and the panache is needed to activate the ability.

I acknowledge RAW, with tiny mousers it works.

Written on phone. I apologize for any autocorrect, grammar issues.

Dark Archive

Grey_Mage wrote:
In regards to the tiny mouser's simply moving into a square... I wouldn't want that to be used against me. Since it is untyped 4 tiny pixie swashbuckler could all UA swarm the same target and give the target a cumulative neg 12 vs any of them.

It's like a DIY swarm :) To make things more fun and make the target of this tactic cry, Teamwork Feats!

Circling Offense: Every time the enemy attacks one of you and misses, it provokes AOOs from the rest.

Improved Feint Partner: If one of your allies successfully Feints, it provokes AOOs from the rest, against which they lose their Dex bonus to AC. Normally feinting is a waste of action economy, but if you have Improved Feint to get Feint as a Move, you can Feint twice in a round and each time earn an AOOs for each of your allies.

Outflank: You're all adjacent to the target and each other, so you're all flanking. Bump the flank bonus up to +4, and every time one of you crits - more AOOs from the rest!

Paired Opportunists: +4 to attack on those AOOs you're spamming. It also permits all of you to get an AOO if any one of you does (with the caveat that you can't get multiple AOOs from the same thing), so this should allow the 4th tiny attacker to get AOOs at the same time as the rest with the above.

That's a lot of AOOs. Good thing tiny critters have high dex scores. You're unlikely to hit them due to the stacking penalties on attack, unlikely to AOE them due to high reflex saves. I guess to fight this you'd have to target Will, but there's also a teamwork feat that, when more than one of you has to roll against a Charm effect, you all get to take the highest roll.

Ok, ok, I promise not to make my GM cry by actually trying to bring this to the table :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Akari Sayuri "Tiger Lily" wrote:
Grey_Mage wrote:
In regards to the tiny mouser's simply moving into a square... I wouldn't want that to be used against me. Since it is untyped 4 tiny pixie swashbuckler could all UA swarm the same target and give the target a cumulative neg 12 vs any of them.

It's like a DIY swarm :) To make things more fun and make the target of this tactic cry, Teamwork Feats!

Circling Offense: Every time the enemy attacks one of you and misses, it provokes AOOs from the rest.

Improved Feint Partner: If one of your allies successfully Feints, it provokes AOOs from the rest, against which they lose their Dex bonus to AC. Normally feinting is a waste of action economy, but if you have Improved Feint to get Feint as a Move, you can Feint twice in a round and each time earn an AOOs for each of your allies.

Outflank: You're all adjacent to the target and each other, so you're all flanking. Bump the flank bonus up to +4, and every time one of you crits - more AOOs from the rest!

Paired Opportunists: +4 to attack on those AOOs you're spamming. It also permits all of you to get an AOO if any one of you does (with the caveat that you can't get multiple AOOs from the same thing), so this should allow the 4th tiny attacker to get AOOs at the same time as the rest with the above.

That's a lot of AOOs. Good thing tiny critters have high dex scores. You're unlikely to hit them due to the stacking penalties on attack, unlikely to AOE them due to high reflex saves. I guess to fight this you'd have to target Will, but there's also a teamwork feat that, when more than one of you has to roll against a Charm effect, you all get to take the highest roll.

Ok, ok, I promise not to make my GM cry by actually trying to bring this to the table :)

Oops. :-)

I have a teamwork feat/tactician build (Holy Tactician Paladin + cavalier + bard with Song of the people's revolt) who pairs with a mouser, specifically so they can get Paired Opportunists and Outflank running at the same time. It takes at least 2 rounds to get it set up (and all my feats have been dedicated to doing this), but it's pretty when we can pull it off.

But the only GM who's cried so far actually started when I shared out Swap Places as my teamwork feat: kept a horde of bad guys trapped in a corridor while we alternated stepping into the only square we could full attack from...


Grey_Mage wrote:
...Since it is untyped 4 tiny pixie swashbuckler could all UA swarm the same target and give the target a cumulative neg 12 vs any of them....

I don't believe bonuses or penalties from the same effect stack, even if untyped.

Still, this would be a fun thing to do!

Btw, this build, while fun, isn't really that much stronger than any other high-AC melee build. It has some unique advantages and disadvantages, but I have found it comparable in power to similar non-fox builds overall.

Dark Archive

I'm not going for breaking the game, but rather seeing if I can make a concept character work effectively enough to keep up with a party of competent players (rabid fox form kitsune).

Grand Lodge

I have found Mousers to be very annoying to the target. Damage is the issue more than anything else but the dex to damage options are fixing that.

You will need to boost ac as UA will make you a target.

My own Mouser uses Body Guard and fighting defensively. Pairs with Outflank + tactician, and Butterfly Sting to buff up all the glass Cannon's these days.


Playing such a character requires a careful balance between offense and defense.

Because you will often be provoking AoOs, you must invest in keeping your AC high. Getting grappled is also very problematic. While you start with a high AC at lower levels, this quickly drops off at higher levels where you have fewer methods to increase your AC (no shield or ammy of nat armor). Things get very painful should you become stunned or flatfooted. Also remember that armor/barding is half as effective on tiny sized creatures, and that many magic items can't be activated in fox shape.

Even with dex to damage, DR can be a significant problem to bypass. This can be partially fixed with yet more feats, but you will find yourself quite feat starved. Acquiring an enhancement bonus on your attacks is very expensive as you'll be placing it on an Agile AoMF most likely.

Finally, at higher levels of play (especially when playing in PFS), you will find fewer players jumping into melee, and when they do, the target often immediately dies. This gives you fewer opportunities to make use of your teamwork oriented melee abilities.

Anyway, I don't mean to discourage you. It is fun to play - just be aware of some of these pitfalls so that you can plan ahead.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mouser and Step Up All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions